Chicken stir fry

20120821-201306.jpg

Previously roasted chicken, linguini from last night, a bag of frozen stir fry vegetables, pecorino cheese, sesame seeds, sesame oil, and soy sauce. Dinner in a flash!

I had previously roasted two chickens tandem (not tandoori!), so had lots of meat and broth. To brown the chicken, I browned a bit of butter in a small frying pan and heated the chicken through. It didn’t take long, and the nice color came along almost immediately. In a larger frying pan, I quick fried the veggies, took them out, and put in a pat of butter to heat and lightly brown the linguini.

When serving, I sprinkled the pecorino cheese over the noodles, then the veggies, then some sesame seeds, sesame oil, and soy sauce to complete the oriental theme. Sliced almonds would have been a good topper, too, but I didn’t have any.

What you don’t see in the picture is the variation of the meal that I made for my husband. When he saw the mashed potatoes in the refrigerator, and knowing that I had a ton of broth to make gravy . . . well, no contest. So he asked for mashed potatoes and gravy in place of the linguini.

No problem . . . BUT whilst we were eating, I kept feeling covetous eyes being cast upon my plate. After dinner was over, he praised how delicious the potatoes and gravy were, but that having seen my plate, he had thought of the line from “When Harry Met Sally”. You know the one, yes? “I’ll have what she’s having.”

Delicious, nutritious food can be really easy.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

