Vegan? Low Carb? Paleo? Vegetarian?

Christmas plate - 12-26-12

I confess . . . I am an omnivore. This is a typical plate of holiday food for me, with many elements the same as every day.

Items are (starting at the noon o’clock time: spaghetti squash, ham with Grey Poupon, fresh cranberry-orange relish, yams with nutmeg, fresh spinach, and some slices of raw fennel (sweet anise).

Now . . . this looks like an extremely well-balanced meal to me, yet my vegan friends recoil in horror at the ham; the paleos look on the yams as pure poison, and the low-carbers wouldn’t touch the yams, either.

I am mystified by these dietary variations. If you are one of the above type eaters, could you tell me in the Comments Section what it is about this meal that would be unsatisfactory to you, and why?

Likewise, if anyone agrees with a “balanced diet” approach to nutrition, I would like to hear about that, too.

Many thanks.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Vegan? Low Carb? Paleo? Vegetarian?

  1. I would happily share that meal with you. I would LIKE to be a fresh and cooked vegetarian, and perhaps include fish and seafood, but I REALLY miss the meats that I grew up eating. When I go to a medium class restaurant, I opt for the fish or seafood choices, but when (not often) I go to a really NICE restaurant, I usually opt for a meat choice that I normally wouldn’t cook at home!
    I grew up eating cooked greens, like collard, turnip, and kale greens, but they were seasoned with meats. I often try to ‘improve’ my diet, but because I live in & among people who eat beef, and I come from a ranching family, I do still eat beef, pork, and poultry products quite often. I admire those who can eat a raw diet, or a ‘veggie diet’ and feel contented afterwards. I wish I could go to a ‘spa-like’ place for a few weeks where a veggie diet was ‘served’ to everyone in a style / fashion that would be appealing and tasty, as I think I would be more likely to attempt a life-style like that if I could get off to a good positive start. I have never had fennel, ……. but I like almost all foods!! Best Wishes!!

  2. Craig says:

    Looks great to me. We don’t eat much meat (Suzanne eats no red meat or pork) but I’m a bit more flexible. Seems to me that humans evolved eating whatever they could find or catch, and I don’t think anyone has proven that it has been proven that the early peoples had troubles with heart disease. They were far more at risk from infections, disease and mal nutrition. So balance seems right to me. The only thing missing from you meal, Judie, is a chocolate chip cookie, which could start another discussion.

  3. Camilla says:

    Oh my, you are doing so much better than me! Dinner tonight was Salsbury steak with gravy and red beans and rice… I shouldn’t worry if I were you!

  4. Kit says:

    First off, this blog is really cool. With respect to the question at hand, it seems that opinions re food are as varied as fingerprints: to each his own. Just today, I read about the “five worst foods to eat”: concentrated fruit juices (no fiber, excess sugar), margarine, whole wheat products (use whole GRAIN, beer & wine (sigh), processed soy (un-fermented is bad, fermented is okay), and corn (so much is now genetically modified). What does it all mean. . .???? Aieeee!

  5. This looks pretty darned good…..although I would probably cut the Yam serving size in half. (I LOVE yams/sweet potatoes)……

  6. Dale says:

    It all looks good to me. In fact, I too had a yam for dinner.

  7. judilyn says:

    The volume of yams looks disproportionately large because it is nearest to the camera lens. The actual portion was more modest.

  8. Peggy Bohler says:

    Hi Judie – The only thing I see that I could not eat is the ham – UNLESS there is hidden sugar or fat or sodium that I would remove from prep. I am on Dr Esselstyns plant based eating lifestyle (How to Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease) as per my cardiologist and am happy with it and doing well (knock on wood) and have been for 22 months. Take care, eat fresh and stay healthy. 🙂 Thank you for your blog. Peggy

    • judilyn says:

      Hi Peggy –

      Ham isn’t my favorite, either, but it is what we had that day. You can see how proportionately little of it there is on my plate. Almost less than the amount of mustard! ;-> I am not a big fan of great hunks of meat.

      Glad to hear you are doing so well. Still heading this way in April?

      • Peggy says:

        Health permitting we plan to head that way the latter part of April. Hope you two are doing well. Happy New Year.

  9. Linda Sand says:

    I eat mostly Paleo and I would eat anything on that plate. Sweet potatoes (often called yams here in the USA) are an acceptable carb if you are an active person. I’m not but I eat them anyway. But a very strict Paleo eater would want that ham to be cured without sugar and that craberry-orange relish to be made without sugar, too. I would eat the ham but ask about the relish before deciding if it would be something I’d eat.

    • judilyn says:

      I have no idea about the ham. Only Safeway knows for sure! Everything else was made in my kitchen with my own two little hands! Cranberry relish is a package of cranberries, two whole oranges – yes, even the peel – and a cup of sugar.

      So you would eat the spaghetti squash, the yams, the fennel, and the spinach without worry. There was also a nice focaccia, but I presume that would be off limits to just about everyone except omnivores.

      What about condiments like the mustard, and catsup or pickle relish? What about butter? Could the cranberry relish be sweetened with honey to be acceptable?

  10. Peggy says:

    P.S. We buy sugar free ketchup and pickles are a no. 🙂

Leave a Reply

