Cauliflower as Brain Food

chix-caul-peppers-brown rice

Is cauliflower brain food? It looks like a brain, but I don’t feel any smarter today! This plate of dinner consists of the cauliflower, brown rice, and chicken tenders with mushrooms, tomatoes, and red and green peppers.

We had planned a picnic with friends (~ ~ ~ waving ~ ~ ~) at the weekend, but bad weather and under-the-weather husband conspired to keep this from happening. Thus I had a nice pile of marinated chicken tenders that had been intended for grilled sandwiches with that French bread and the peppers, etc..

A little soya sauce sprinkled on the rice, and some sesame seed oil on the chicken and peppers made an almost-Chinese meal. Always too late, I thought that I should have sprinkled some sautéed sliced almonds on top of the cauliflower, and sesame seeds on the chicken and peppers – or vice versa.

At the grocery store today (Wednesday) I laid in a new supply of red and green peppers, so stay tuned for more colorful applications of this delicious veggie.

Be sure to look at the Animals Spotted tab up under the picture of Dorrie Anne. We had a banner day yesterday. ;->

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cauliflower as Brain Food

  1. Holly Knott says:

    That looks REALLY GOOD! I’m a big fan of cauliflower. It has a taste that is difficult to describe, wouldn’t you say?

    • judilyn says:

      I love cauliflower, too. You can eat your weight in the stuff and hardly make a dent in your calorie limitations for any given day. Some people swear they can mash it up to take the place of mashed potatoes, but I’ve never tried it. Actually, I’d rather have potatoes as potatoes, and eat the cauliflower as . . . well . . . cauliflower! ;->

  2. Tammy says:

    My favorite way is to roast it and get that carmelization effect but it is truly one of my favorite veg and I love when it is in season.

    • judilyn says:

      I’ve read about caramelizing cauliflower and other veggies, but haven’t ever tried it. I have an eggplant in the fridge that is begging to be used . . . Hmmmmmmm.

  3. IRENA & dots says:

    Looks like a very nice dinner. Simple to prepare, but tasty!

Leave a Reply

