Oddball Condiments

curry and condiments

I tried out a few “different” flavors on my plain turkey bits that I had plucked off the wings. Here you see a pile of my new favorite sour cream – Mexican Crema. Wanting to have some more pungent flavors, I put down a spoon of Hoisin Sauce, one of Chinese Hot Mustard, and one of a “Southwestern Spicy Mustard” that I found in Safeway. It is their own brand. It is tasty, but VERY mustard-y. I thought it would be more like a sandwich spread, but it isn’t. Definitely a spicy mustard! Use in small quantities.

The bits of turkey were dipped into the pile of sauces so that I could savor each one separately. In the end, I mixed it all together with the curried rice, and that was really good, too. The stir-fried veggies got a bit of a dribble of soy sauce.

Next up for the stir fry veggies is to mix the tubed fresh ginger, soy sauce and sesame oil into a bit of basmati vinegar as a “sauce”.

Try new things! It’s like eating out, only more healthful.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oddball Condiments

  1. Jan says:

    Try Durkees Sandwich spread, hard to find, but I now have Wal-Mart stocking and did find at both Albertsons and Safeway, I am not a mustard person other than the hot Chinese for BBQ’d pork.

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      Thanks for the idea! I use Cole slaw dressing as a sandwich spread, mixing in a bit of this or that – whatever seems to go with the sandwich filling.

      Like

Leave a Reply

