The Elusive Pyrrhuloxia

phyrruloxia full body

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pyrrhuloxia

pyrrhuloxia good posture

This is the fellow that was keeping me company while I took pictures of the cows last week.  He would hold still long enough for me to swing the camera his way, then he was off like a shot before I could get a good bead on him.  Such a tease!

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Elusive Pyrrhuloxia

  1. Dale Ellis says:

    We saw a number of these at the entrance to Sabino Canyon, I think it was 2000. The relationship to the Northern Cardinal is obvious. I don’t recall seeing them in Sierra Vista. They must have been hiding from me. 😉

    • judilyn says:

      They are actually pretty common here, Dale, but I first saw them in New Mexico in 2004. They make the distinctive cardinal sharp “chirp”. They like to sit in the very top of the mesquite trees and survey what they perceive as their kingdom!

  2. Judie – Congratulations on winning First Place in the 2013 Roadrunner Photo Contest! Your photos of the Roadrunner family were just fabulous, and I’m so happy for you. You take beautiful photographs. 🙂

    • judilyn says:

      Thanks, Barbara, for the very kind words. How did you find out? The winner was to be announced at the weekend, I thought. Very exciting. I almost never enter contests of any kind, but did so this time at your urging! Thanks for giving me a shove!!

Leave a Reply

