What Do You See?

kicking embryo.blog

This is a room at The Empire Ranch that is in the Las Cienegas area not too far from our house. See the little blotches in the lower right-hand corner of this room? I’ve totally tarted up the picture to make everything look more prominent than it was – it was really pretty drab – so I could think about what I was seeing in those blotches. What do you see?

Click the picture once, let it load, then click again to get the largest view. Does that change what you see?

DH, another photographer friend (Beverly), and I spent a few hours there a couple of Mondays ago, and were rewarded with great storm skies nearing the end of our time there. We had a great picnic lunch, which always makes a session even more pleasant.

If you would like to see some real pictures of Empire Ranch and learn more about it, skip on over to Beverly’s blog site where she has up some really great pictures.

http://desertaura.com/blog/gallery/empire-ranch-las-cienegas-nca/#!prettyPhoto

You can read more about Empire Ranch in Wikipedia at:

http://www.empireranchfoundation.org/RanchInfo.htm

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to What Do You See?

  1. Kit says:

    Owooooo. . . .

  2. Andy Baird says:

    What I’m thinking is “dried mouse urine…hantavirus… let me out of here!”

    • judilyn says:

      We did see some “droppings” on the floor, and made a hasty retreat. It was pretty clean inside as there is restoration work going on from time to time, but we were in there for a while before realizing the danger.

  3. Tasty Eats Ronit Penso says:

    Can’t say I “see” much… Guess it means I’ll have to change contract lenses prescription soon?… πŸ™‚

    • Tasty Eats Ronit Penso says:

      I meat to say “contact”… yes, now it’s obvious, there’s no way to avoid it… πŸ™‚

      • Tasty Eats Ronit Penso says:

        omg I also wrote meat instead of meant… Guess it’s not a good idea to write anything right after drinking a glass of red wine…. πŸ™„

      • judilyn says:

        Don’t try this out on the street, kids!

      • Tasty Eats Ronit Penso says:

        absolutellllllllllllly!

      • judilyn says:

        I need a quick lesson in pronunciation of your name? Can you help?

      • Tasty Eats Ronit Penso says:

        In the U.S. it would be pronounced like “Roni”, only you do pronounce the T at the end.
        In Israel it would be pronounced with a different R – similar to the French R.

        Come to think of it, I’m not sure how your name would be pronounced? πŸ™„ I assume it’s a combination of Judy and Lynn?
        Mysteries of life… πŸ™‚

      • judilyn says:

        Interesting about the different pronunciations in different countries. When I started first grade in 1949, there seemed to be a plethora of little girls who had been named after the wildly popular Judy Garland. There were three of us in that class alone, so the teacher separated us out by calling one of us “Judith”; one of us “Judy”; and I was dubbed “Judilyn”. As time went on, and I got a bit older, I changed the spelling to “Judie”, just to be different. But I liked “judilyn” for a screen name, so I adopted it a couple of decades ago for that purpose.

      • Tasty Eats Ronit Penso says:

        How interesting. At least you got yourself a “screen name” out of it. πŸ™‚

        And yes, different pronunciation is a funny thing. The French will always pronounce the R in my name “correctly” but as it goes with their obscure grammar, will not pronounce the T at the end. So there I’ll always be Roni…

        Well, I guess it’s better than, say, someone called “Doug” going to Israel and realizing his name over there means “Fish”! LOL

      • judilyn says:

        This topic fascinates me! I love words!

      • Tasty Eats Ronit Penso says:

        Same here. πŸ™‚
        It’s also funny when you go to countries where English is the spoken language and you realize you still can’t understand much of what they’re saying.

        I went to New Zealand once and they kept talking about “eeeeeegs”. It took me a while to realize they were talking about “eggs”, which, for a chef, is quite important, you know… πŸ˜€

      • judilyn says:

        Maybe a few extra carrots?

      • Tasty Eats Ronit Penso says:

        LOL I’ll give it a try πŸ™‚

    • judilyn says:

      Did you already sign the contract? ;->

  4. Bev says:

    Judie, thanks for the plug of my website! And you already know the strange things I saw in the wall patterns. I don’t remember you ever revealing what YOU saw in it!

Leave a Reply

