Spotted Squirrel

which to choose w cactus wren

The spotted squirrel – so named because it is rare to spot one around here, and he has spots, which I’ve never seen before. Have you?

Note the cactus wren advising him on how to choose his next meal.

Skimpy vine

This one is nice and green, but a bit skimpy.

Ah, more like it

Ah, that’s more like it! Full bodied, and with a good aroma!

Tasty morsel

Found !! A tasty morsel, fit for a squirrel’s late-afternoon snack.

Checking into motel for a nap

Checking into Motel 7 for a quick postprandial snooze before taking off on another adventure.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Spotted Squirrel

  1. Tasty Eats Ronit Penso says:

    It looks much bigger than the ones in NY, that’s for sure…

    Like

  2. Shirley Nordenberg says:

    Judi Your pictures are WONDERFUL !!!!!!!! I just loved this squirrel and have not seen one like it here.

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      Thanks, Shirley. Me, neither! The closest we’ve seen to something like that is the ringtail cat when we lived in the other house closer to you. I wonder if this guy has some other DNA mixed in with his “squirrel” DNA. He was harassing the cactus wrens by their nest in the front yard, but now I’ve seen him twice in the back yard. The back area is so lush this time of year, that we can barely see anything there. Thought there was a coyote today just at dusk, but can’t be sure.

      Like

  3. Liz says:

    Omg, what pretty, pretty photos. I love them, honestly. I love the last photo, most. It seems like it was posing for the photo and look how bushy and pretty that tail is. Thanks for sharing these lovely photos!

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      I think he may have taken up at least temporary residence under our storage shed. I saw him come out from under there yesterday. It is brand new, so I hope he isn’t happily chewing up the fresh lumber!

      Like

  4. LFFL says:

    It’s definitely not rare to see a squirrel in my area. They’re rampant everywhere. You got a good picture of him!

    Like

  5. Tammy says:

    Great photos Dorrie!

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      Thanks, Tammy. I’m just thrilled to pieces to have seen him. I hope he becomes a regular. I don’t put out any food for any of the animals; just a constant supply of fresh water from our drip system.

      Like

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    Squirrels are so cute — when they’re not in my yard stealing my tomatoes. 😉

    Like

  7. These are great pics of this little rascal.
    can you tell me the name of the vine he was munching on? I have this vine in my yard and haven’t been able to identify.. This looks alot like it. Thanks so much.. Thoroughly enjoying your blog!

    Like

  8. bevparks says:

    Great photos and cute story! I believe it is a rock squirrel.

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      Thanks. I’ll look it up. I looked some yesterday but didn’t come up with anything. I figured you’d find it before I could. ;->

      Like

    • judilyn says:

      You are quite right! Google has many, many pictures of them. I suspect he is out of his element here, though, as there are few rocks in our backyard – just the pebbles all over the ground. He must have blown in from the Dragoons somehow.

      Like

Leave a Reply

