Tarantula in the Rocks

tarantula in rocks

August is tarantula month. This is when we see them wandering around, heading for . . . well, wherever they go to meet up with other tarantulas. They get out into the streets and just meander along. When we see one, we jump out to hasten its journey to the side of the road. Cars actually stop and let us do this. Not on busy roads, of course, but just here in our complex.

This fellow/gal was resting beside these rocks when I leaned down to pull out a handful of weeds about six inches from where he was. It was twilight, and although I’ve learned to look before I put my hand near the ground, I didn’t see him. He apparently saw me, though, and made a dash (well, about three inches!) into these rocks that border our berm. He was a mottled variety of brown colors, as were the rocks, so he was actually pretty hard to see. I dashed back in for my camera (and a flashlight that DH held for me), and he patiently waited for me. It was getting really dark so the picture isn’t as good as I’d hoped it would be. Someone with better Photoshop skills could probably have pulled out a better picture, but that’s the best I could do.

His home is likely in those rocks during the day. They seem to come out only as it is getting dark. Would like to see “Tarantula Nightlife!” – The Movie!! ;->

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tarantula in the Rocks

  1. gypsy97 says:

    I’m almost certain this won’t go through, but I’ll send it anyway.

    I’m away from home for the next couple months and can’t remember my WordPress password so I can’t leave a comment on your blog. I’m reading ya, and just want you to know that. I have a file with passwords that I left at home although I intended to bring it along with me.

    gypsy

  2. Saunter says:

    in our area the male tarantulas only leave their home once during their life . . . to mate. They never make it home again.

  3. I have to admit this one isn’t half as cute as the squirrel… There, I said it! 🙂

  4. LFFL says:

    Eww, keep it there Judilyn!

    • judilyn says:

      The tarantula has a right to be skitterish. We found one in a hole in the backyard where he had been dragged by a tarantula wasp. I’m not sure if they are killed outright, or just “drugged”, but the wasps use them as a place to lay eggs, and for the larvae to dine on upon hatching. The wasps seem to be around right now, which is probably not a coincidence since this is about the only time of the year that we see the tarantulas. Nature is just one big restaurant, paraphrased from a Woody Allen comment.

      If you are as fond of Woody Allen as we are, you can see a few more hilarious quotes at:

      http://www.woodyallenquotes.com/woodyallen10.shtml

  5. Liz says:

    You are brave. I would have screamed my lungs out and ran without looking back. And what a sad thing about male tarantulas. I would never one to be a male tarantula for sure. Thanks for sharing. I managed to see the photo.

    • judilyn says:

      They are quite harmless, Liz. I’m sure that poor fellow was quaking in his boots (if he had any!) that this huge creature was shining a light on him and making snapping noises. When we have encountered them on the street, they raise up their hind ends in a warning, and then trot along as if we aren’t even there. I don’t see a lot of squashed carcasses, so I guess most of them make it to the other side of the street in one piece.

      We had quite a set to with one of the roadrunners and the squirrel this morning. I guess they are having a territory dispute about who gets to live in our yard.

  6. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

