He Loves to Taunt Me, That Rascally Roadrunner

roadrunner taunting me

He knows I am here; I’m sure of it. He makes his clattering noise and jumps up onto the top rail of the fence, almost close enough to the birdhouse, for his nearly-daily visit. Fortunately for me, I had my camera at hand, so I grabbed a quick shot through the recently-cleaned window, hoping he would pose for long enough for me to get out onto the deck. But, nooooooo! By the time I got to the door, he was off. He sprinted down the open space towards the campground and disappeared behind a bush. I’m sure he was sticking his tongue out at me as I snapped away.

My attention was soon grabbed by a big something that flew into the gigantic mesquite tree that is between where he was and where I was standing in the yard. I’m wondering if a new nest is being made in that huge tree. I zoomed out the camera lens and tried to use it as binoculars to see if I could see anything, but was unsuccessful in locating anything useful.

I don’t think that location is as safe as the extant nest in the hedge beside our deck, but both eggs are gone out of there now, so maybe they don’t consider it as secure.

Stay tuned for more roadrunner adventures.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to He Loves to Taunt Me, That Rascally Roadrunner

  1. It reminded me of the roadrunner cartoon… Beep, Beep! 😀

    Like

  2. Bev says:

    LOL! He is certainly laughing at you! 🙂

    Like

  3. bjdewell says:

    Great picture with his beak open – “Ha, ha, ha, come and get me.” I can’t wait for more pictures and details of the goings on.

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      I wouldn’t be surprised! It really is like he is taunting me. He can’t see me when I am in the house, but I can hear him making that clattering noise, and I’m off like a shot. The grounds around here are so lush now during the monsoons that the animals don’t seem to come up to “civilization” as much. If it doesn’t rain for a day or two, though, we see a big influx in birds. They sit on the rail of the fence, and then jump down to the pond as if on bungie cords! So cute! Two little finches just took refuge on the deck to get out of a surprise rainstorm just now, but the rain didn’t last long, and they were gone. A hummingbird comes up a couple of times a day because there is a red lamp on the table out there. He never seems to remember that there is no food in a lamp! ;->

      Like

  4. LFFL says:

    He does look like Roadrunner.

    Like

Leave a Reply

