A Penne for Your Thoughts

penne and ham1100.blog

Where to start . . . ?

THE HAM: $10.54 for 14 bags of meal-sized (for two!) chunks of pure ham and two quarts of super thick gelled broth from the bones.

THE SPAGHETTI SQUASH: Half of the smallest one I could find provided four huge servings. We LOVE spaghetti squash, and take generous amounts.

THE BEET GREENS: They came free with the purchase of three beets, each large enough for us to split as the vegetable du jour on subsequent days! The greens are super delicious, but if not cooked, tend to fade away into obscurity after about three days of languishing in the refrigerator. Best if purchased and steamed to perfection the same day! And so it came to pass!

And the star of the show – at least today . . .

THE PENNE: I bought a pound box of name brand penne for $.89 on sale. So far it has provided the base for four servings (two for each of us) of spaghetti and meat sauce, a huge pot of macaroni and cheese with ham (yes, homemade cheese sauce, and there is still some of the mac ‘n’ cheese left after a dinner and a lunch), leaving the remaining penne for the basis of what you see on the plate tonight. I really didn’t have any idea what I was going to do with the penne, except it would involve the beet greens incorporated into them. Well, once I got started, that didn’t happen. Ad hoc, that’s me! ;->

A little ghee to sauté the onions, then the mushrooms; then in went the penne to brown up a bit and coax some flavor from the onions and mushrooms into the pasta itself. A spoonful of roasted green chiles, and a small spoonful of prepared salsa went in next. Stir fried that melange; added dill, oregano, and Montreal Steak Seasoning, then a torn up slice of Muenster cheese, which melded perfectly with the pasta. The Muenster entirely disappeared, leaving behind a smooth surface that went well with the more spicy chiles and salsa.

I’m not clear which was more enjoyable – the production or the devouring!

Photo taken today by a resurrected Canon SD1100IS camera that I had not touched since June of 2011, according to the last picture on the card. The battery showed full, the flash worked, but my brain wasn’t as on the ball trying to remember where to touch to produce which function. Guess I remembered enough, because here’s the picture – at the top of the page.

If you want to see every grain of pepper, click once on the picture, let it load, and then click again. But don’t get too close to the screen – you could get cheese sauce on your clothing!! ;->

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Penne for Your Thoughts

  1. Clanmother says:

    Every time that I come to your blog, I think of one of my favourite quotes by my favourite author:

    “If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.” J.R.R. Tolkien

    Like

  2. LFFL says:

    I saw every grain. Looks great. Can’t wait to see what’s in store for 2014!

    Like

  3. Sherry says:

    I don’t know which is making me hungrier your delicious pictures or your luscious description. Happy and Healthy New Year to you both

    Like

  4. bjdewell says:

    Looks and sounds delicious – I’ve never bought fresh beets, and have never even thought of eating the greens. I love green veggies, though, and beets, so I just might get a fresh beet or two and see what I can do with them. So – you steam the greens, and then add what – salt, pepper, wine vinegar, ???

    Here’s to a super Happy and Healthy New Year to you both! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

