Smashed Potatoes – Before and After

smashed taters-before.blog

I’ve read about these smashed potatoes on several sites/blogs over the last couple of weeks. I had some Yukon Gold potatoes, as called for, so tonight I went for it. As you can see by the second picture, I wasn’t quite quick enough to get ALL of the potatoes in the AFTER picture. They were an enormous hit! Next time, I’ll sprinkle cut up Mexican scallions all over the tops.

smashed taters, after-blog.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Smashed Potatoes – Before and After

  1. Jan says:

    When I used potatoes that is what I like to use, such a good flavor, do you happen to have a recipe? Looks really good.

    • judilyn says:

      Cook the potatoes, put on pan, smash with a glass, add salt, pepper and cheese. Bake at 400 until cheese melts. Next time I’ll sprinkle with Mexican scallions.

  2. Jan says:

    What is the difference between regular and Mexican scallions? On my way to store and will grab a bag of Yukon. I have another recipe and will see if I can find and send to you, a little more work, but I do when I’m doing a chicken and roasting veggies.

    • judilyn says:

      Mexican scallions have huge bulbs and lots of lovely green tops. Milder, too, it seems. I don’t like raw onions, but it doesn’t take much cooking to make them edible.

  3. Clanmother says:

    Before and After – and then all gone! Too good to last…. 🙂

  4. LFFL says:

    Are those cheese pieces on top?

    • judilyn says:

      Yes, extra sharp Cheddar. It doesn’t melt down as “gooey” as other cheeses, but we love the sharp taste. Pepper cheese would be good, too, for a little extra bite. If you’re into “peppery”, a sprinkle of any kind of hot powder or hot sauce, or bits of jalapeño (or GASP Habañero), might be just the thing! I’m not brave enough for those peppers, though!

  5. I saw your title on my Blogroll, but you were down a few blogs. I usually go in order and couldn’t wait to get here!!!

    I always get russets – I don’t know if I’ve ever bought Yukon Gold potatoes. I’ll look for them. What I would do is put a dollop of sour cream on the potatoes I put in my plate. I’m definitely going to try these. Freshly made bacon bits would also be good on top of the sour cream. Yummm. Thanks!

    • judilyn says:

      They’re just baked potatoes in the final analysis, but they were fun to make. The Yukon Golds are smaller with very tender skins. In the RV, I would just heat ’em up in a frying pan on the stove. If you think they would burn, crumple a bit of tinfoil to keep the potatoes from sitting directly on the pan’ shot surface. If the thickness is not excessive, maybe just enough crust would form on the bottom to be delicious.

      All sort of toppings could be added to make them a full meal!

Leave a Reply

