Israeli Cous Cous – Trader Joe’s Version

israeli cous cous and friends

This is for all the Israeli cous cous fans (waving to Dale!). We made our annual pilgrimage to Trader Joe’s last week and scarfed up three one-pound bags of their pseudo Israeli cous cous. They call it Harvest Grains Medley. I found the same brand on Amazon, but at twice the price of buying it at Trader Joe’s.

Last night I used up the last of my current stock before opening a new package next time. Earlier in the afternoon I had cooked up a batch of wild rice in the rice cooker. No other method does as wonderful a job as the rice cooker! I’ve been making it for over fifty years, and this is just THE most successful outcome ever.

I sautéed some onions, red peppers, and mushrooms (forgot the celery) and then added the wild rice and cous cous, seasoning with poultry seasoning and Montreal Steak Seasoning. It was beyond delicious. The butternut squash provided a yummy accompaniment. The meat is flour/egg/crumbed boneless chicken thigh. You can tell where my true interests lie, yes? ;->

The best part? There is enough leftover for another meal just like this one!

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Israeli Cous Cous – Trader Joe’s Version

  1. Dale Ellis says:

    Yum is right!! You definitely found my soft spot in food. I haven’t tried mixing in other things with the couscous, except chicken broth. That will come with time. I do also love microwave-baked butternut and acorn squash. Actually, all squash is good. Lunch time.

    Like

  2. LFFL says:

    Love those good ol’ leftovers, too. I still haven’t been to a Trader Joe’s yet. I keep meaning to go.

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      We had the rerun tonight, and I just put the food on plates, sprayed them with distilled water and popped them into the microwave. Better than any frozen dinner. The food tasted just as good as last night. There is still some of the cous cous and wild rice left, so I’ll need to think up something to use them in. Probably will end up in soup. My New Orleans boy LOVES soup!

      Like

    • judilyn says:

      I think you will be pleased.

      Like

  3. Clanmother says:

    You are right – butternut squash is my favourite – goes with everything, especially on a cold, winter day…

    Like

Leave a Reply

