Dinner on the Quick

red yellow peppers and beets

Due to a mixup in intended departure time to go to the gym . . . I didn’t start dinner, and it was getting REALLY late. I could stay home and fix dinner, or I could be inventive with the prep work, and go to the gym whilst dinner did its own thing. Guess which tack I took? ;->

Earlier in the afternoon, I had started the beets in my good old standby appliance, the six-cup Rival Crock-ette. Next to my rice cooker, this is my most useful cooking helper. Fortunately for me, the beets were done, so I took them out and put in the stuffed peppers that you see on the plate. I microwaved them a bit to heat them through first, then plopped them into the Crock-ette to finish cooking and stay hot.

For a quick grains dish, I pre-heated my three-cup Nissan-Thermos vacuum bottle, and added 3/4 cup bulgur and two cups of boiling water. It was done to perfection when we got home. No stove needed for this dish. I just scooped out perfectly ready bulgur onto the plates, and added the stuffed peppers, beets, and sliced up a nice tomato. The peppers and filling exuded enough juices to moisten the bulgur. We were dining within five minutes of walking through the door.

If you like tabouli (I don’t like garlic, so I have never actually made this dish), this method of cooking the bulgur may make it a bit too soft. But you could keep a close watch, and take it out before it is done all the way.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dinner on the Quick

  1. gypsy97 says:

    I’m glad to know I’m not the only person in the world who doesn’t like garlic!

    Like

  2. LFFL says:

    That really looks healthy and it’s so colorful. I love pretty food colors.

    Like

  3. Clanmother says:

    You are very clever, my dear friend! I love how your multi-task!

    Like

  4. Liz says:

    Do you realize that your meals are always so colourful? lots of anti-oxidants, and served on a pretty plate too. Great dinner on quick!

    Like

Leave a Reply

