Chicken Soup and Olive Pizza

chicken soup and olive pizza

This lunch turned out to be quite memorable. Yesterday I did my Nissan-Thermos vacuum bottle trick with some little wheel-shaped pastas. Thirty minutes, and just under a cup of noodles (half of a seven-ounce bag) and two cups of boiling water filled my pre-heated three-cup Nissan-Thermos vacuum bottle to the brim with lovely little wheels to add to some chicken / vegetable soup that was in the making. Some bits of chicken, toasted buns with cheese, red peppers and tomatoes rounded out the lunch.

So . . . TODAY . . . The soup had an added attraction – the olive pizza. Last night when I made the bread for dinner, I made a very thin crust, empty, “pizza”, or probably more accurately, a focaccia. It was only about a half-inch high, so made the perfect ad hoc pizza for lunch today. I cut pie-shaped slices and covered them with tomato pesto, then Muenster cheese, Italian herbs, oregano, and then topped with the olives. What a winning combination. I had to do the “pizza” thing again while eating the soup, as we both wanted more o’ dat! It was so very delicious.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Chicken Soup and Olive Pizza

  1. gypsy97 says:

    The soup looks so good. What all do you have in it – I can see the tomatos, celery and carrots – maybe some zucchini?

    • judilyn says:

      Also red peppers and Mexican scallions. A pretty simple one this time. No zucchini – I think what you may see is some leftover Italian green beans. Any leftover vegetables are fair game! ;-> But the broth was a whole day in the making. I had purchased a big bag of legs and cooked them in the Nesco roaster. As we ate them – two at a time – I put the two leg bones into a bag in the freezer. When I had about eight of them, I put them into my little six-cup Crock-ette to simmer themselves into a rich broth. Two of the legs had not been eaten, so there was quite a bit of meat in the end. The only thing I put into the broth as it cooks is a big bay leaf.

      When I reheated the remaining soup for lunch today, I put the bones back into a saucepan and cooked them about half an hour, and got a whole bunch more very rich broth to add to the soup. There is still some left for tomorrow! Because we had a good portion of cheese on the pizza bread today, I didn’t offer shredded Parmesan, although we did sprinkle on generous amounts yesterday. Gives a great “body” to a thin-ish soup.

      Homemade chicken broth is dead simple, a great way to get extra nourishment, and the taste is soooo much better than the canned or boxed broths. Recipes for broth tend to be intimidating to me because they always say to add cut up veggies while it is cooking. I have never found that necessary, although there probably is some merit to it. I like the vegetables to be almost crispy and edible in the soup, not mushy from having cooked for hours.

      I’m guessing that those in favor of garlic would benefit from putting in some garlic cloves during the cooking process, but, well, Gypsy, neither you nor I would do that, would we? ;->

  2. Both the pizza and soup look wonderful! I can actually see the richness in the broth…beautiful color šŸ™‚

  3. Shirley Nordenberg says:

    As usual looks so good!

  4. Tammy says:

    Gosh I had chicken soup and pizza tonight. Great combo!!

  5. Clanmother says:

    I so admire your photography skills!!! šŸ™‚

  6. LFFL says:

    I love how your dishes come out so colorful like that. And inside colorful bowls and plates, too.

  7. Liz says:

    That pizza slice look gorgeous. Like it was meant for the eyes only..the colours are very attractive. The soup looks great too!

Leave a Reply

