Hotchpotch Soup and Quicky Pizza

German restaurant pizza

I learned a new word today: Hotchpotch

Apparently a forerunner to the word with which we are more familiar: hodgepodge.

But hotchpotch is the perfect word for the soupy stew shown here. Hotchpotch is a combination of meats and vegetables, frequently thickened with barley. But this is truly a hotchpotch because the dish came from combining the soup from a German restaurant brought to us by the friends (Karen and George) who joined us for pizza yesterday, with some beef, barley and mushroom soup that we had on hand.

Accompanying the hotchpotch is a giant piece of my now world-famous instant black olive pizza. Tomorrow I will show you the secret ingredients needed to make this wondrous pizza. ;->

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hotchpotch Soup and Quicky Pizza

  1. Clanmother says:

    I learn something new every time I stop by!!! Thank you….

    Like

  2. I will definitely await the instructions for the pizza. I love black olives!

    Like

  3. judilyn says:

    How did your split pea soup come out? Did you eat it all up already?

    Like

  4. LFFL says:

    That looks good, Judilyn! There you go with all that wonderful color again. Can’t wait for the secret ingredients.

    Like

  5. bjdewell says:

    I’m looking forward to the pizza instructions – I like mushroom and olive on my pizza. I seldom have pizza and have never made one, but when someone suggests going to pizza (like my kids) I always enjoy it. I just never think about it. So… we’ll see if this changes things. 🙂

    Like

  6. Liz says:

    Very beautiful, extremely delicious and great photography. I can see all the ingredients you added to that soup. What more can I say? If only you invited me…..LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

