Rosemary O’Brien

Rosemary O'Brien

It’s Sunday again, hence the poached eggs. This time I made Potatoes O’Brien, adding a sprinkling of rosemary. It was a nice little fillip. DH ate down some of the pineapple and blueberries, and then added some yogurt to the remainder. He just couldn’t stop smacking his lips over the fruit and yogurt, heretofore designated as “girl food”, and shunned.

We didn’t eat all of the potatoes, so for lunch I made a thin Béchamel sauce, added the leftover potatoes, vegetables, and some cheese. We had a wonderful soup with very little effort.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rosemary O’Brien

  1. I’ve never made Potatos OBrien, but they sure look delicious. I’ll have to look uo a recipe. I love fruit for breakfast but I’m waiting until I can get it at the farmers’ mkt as I try to buy only local. I know I’m in the minority here, but I think yogurt is the most vile tasting stuff I’ve ever tried. I even try it again every couple of years thinking my taste might have changed, but it only gets worse!

    • judilyn says:

      I guess yogurt is an acquired taste. I’ve been making my own since the early 60’s. It involves only milk and some yogurt from a previous batch, and the price in the store is so much more that it makes me gasp to look at it!

      No need for a recipe for Potatoes O’Brien – it’s just chopped up onion, peppers (green, red, yellow – whatever you have) and potatoes. Fry the veggies, add cubed or Julienned cooked potatoes, and heat the whole thing up. Sprinkle on some cheese and let it melt. I added some Montreal Steak Seasoning and some Cajun seasoning. Fix an egg or two in whatever manner pleases you, and enjoy. Very nutritious meal – not just for breakfast anymore! ;-> Hint: If you are making boiled or baked potatoes, always make an extra one or two. You will definitely find a use for the extra in a day or two.

  2. Kit says:

    “. . .heretofore designated as ‘girl food’. . .”

    Ha!

  3. LFFL says:

    I love a good use for the leftovers. I think I love potatoes in all forms.

  4. Clanmother says:

    Potatoes are so versatile. I looked up how many names are given to potato dishes – mind boggling. But this is the first time of heard of Potatoes O’Brien. Looks delicious.

  5. Liz says:

    This is the most colourful and appealing dish I’ve seen in ages. Appealing to the eye, appealing to the palate and appealing to health too. I admire the way you eat…am drooling!

Leave a Reply

