Red and Green – Pita Burger

pita burger plate

Bright alert! Best put on sunglasses! ;-> (waving to Liz)

This was last night’s dinner. I made some pita breads, which turned out okay, but with the high proportion of whole wheat flour, they weren’t as nummy as I had hoped. But they made great hamburger buns! There is another batch of bread in the breadmaker right now, which will provide a pizza for lunch and six more buns.

Red peppers (and green ones, too) are still on sale locally, so we are gobbling up more than our share, I’m sure. There seems to be a disproportionate allocation of red:green peppers on my plate. I think there was some filching going on when my back was turned! Raw red pepper slices are irresistible to DH! There seemed to be more green than red when I popped them into the frying pan when the burgers came out.

The green leafy stuff is beet greens. What do they taste like? Hmmm – hard to say. Not like kale, chard, spinach, or any of the other leafy greens, but they are mild and quite nice. Chemotherapy has a quite nasty effect on one’s elimination system (to be somewhat indelicate), and beets (and presumably the greens as well) provide a very effective “nudge”, if you get my drift.

DH added mustard, peperoncini, and an abundant amount of Mexican scallions to his portion.

After this “portrait” was taken, the tomatoes went inside the bun to join my burger, melted Cheddar cheese, relish and catsup for a very enjoyable meal.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Red and Green – Pita Burger

  1. gypsy97 says:

    The greens look really good. I thought they might be chard at first. That is a beautiful plate of food!

    • judilyn says:

      Red chard IS definitely a favorite of ours, but the beet greens come free with the beets. It is a bonus that they are so delicious to boot. They tend to wilt fairly quickly, though, so we eat them first, leaving the beets for a subsequent meal. At first I thought fresh beets were an expensive extravagance, but find that there are two meals of greens and two additional meals of the beets themselves, so it breaks down to $2.29 divided by eight servings, thus “dirt cheap” for such a nutritious and delicious vegetable.

  2. Barbara says:

    I thought the beet greens were chard, too, which I really like. They say the more colorful the food, the better for us, and this meal sure fits that! It looks delicious.

    • judilyn says:

      I’m guessing that in a blind test, I would not be able to tell the difference between chard and beet greens. They even look enough alike to be confused in a not-blind test, for that matter! ;->

  3. I love using the beets’ greens. I’ve just made an orange-beet salad, and used the beet greens in cheese patties…. 🙂

  4. tinycamper says:

    What gorgeous colors! Looks like summer. 🙂

    • judilyn says:

      Color is all part of the delight of eating!

      • tinycamper says:

        And so healthy!

        Also, in looking at your plate, I can see that I have a problem with portion control. 🙂

      • judilyn says:

        Well, you certainly could have all you can eat of the veggies. The peppers were still a bit crispy, so would give good satisfaction to that desire. I had sautéed them in coconut oil. Definitely the greens and tomato are completely “free” foods. If you like raw onions, that would be another great addition. If you can make your own bread and buns, you will get more nourishment from those calories, as opposed to the white flour store-bought buns.

  5. tinycamper says:

    I don’t eat bread now since I’m low carbing, but I used to make all my own bread and rolls. I even bought hard winter white wheat berries (whole wheat, but a light color and taste) and ground my own flour. The freshly ground wheat was so different from what you buy. It tasted like it had milk in it!

    I made Israeli salad (extremely finely diced tomatoes, cucumbers, onion and peppers) sprinkled with lemon juice and olive oil and served in an avocado half the other night. The salad is also superb in a pita with falafel, if you like that. Unfortunately falafel is off my allowed foods now, too.

    • judilyn says:

      I am on the cusp of buying a grain mill to do the same. We already buy wheatberries, but I use them only for cooking purposes. They are good in soups. What brand mill do you use? Any additional tips?

      • tinycamper says:

        I have an old Whisper Mill. I’ve had it for around 16 years, I think. I really liked it — when I used to use it!

        One time I roughly cracked wheat berries and put baked them in a pan with chicken and veggies. The wheat turned into the most delicious stuffing-like texture — kind of like cornbread stuffing. Drenched in the chicken juices, it was SO good.

      • judilyn says:

        I remember the Whispermills, but when I went to buy one, they were discontinued. Do you know a source? Your “stuffing” sounds really fabulous.

  6. tinycamper says:

    I think the Wonder Mill is what replaced the Whisper Mill, but I don’t have any personal experience with it. It does look like the Whisper Mill.

  7. Clanmother says:

    You make healthy food look absolutely decadent!!!

  8. dreamjosie says:

    Beet greens are absolutely the best green there is (IMHO, Fred’s too)

  9. LFFL says:

    Never heard of beet greens before. Loads of color there. Sounds like an awesome burger indeed.

Leave a Reply

