Curry in a Hurry

split pea and curried rice

I knew lunch would be “NOW” at any moment, so I planned ahead by starting some curried rice in the rice cooker. I have taken to removing the rice from the rice cooker after about fifteen minutes and putting the grains into my smallish steamer set to steam to perfection. The rice somehow seems more “flaky” instead of somewhat gummy done this way.

There was still a bit of the split pea soup left, so while my Louisiana boy tucked into a plate of red beans and (white) rice, BBQ chicken, and broccoli, I got the split pea soup this time.

Hooray – two more leftovers vanquished.

Tonight leftover steak will become a great stir fry meal, featuring bok choy, red and green peppers, carrots, celery, almonds, sesame seeds, et al. May serve it on the curried rice from lunch, or, more likely, whip up some pasta.

Something to look forward to. ;->

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Curry in a Hurry

  1. gypsy97 says:

    I have some split pea soup left also, but I’m getting a bit tired of it for a little while. That plate of food looks good!

    • judilyn says:

      You can freeze it in small portions, and then trot it out when you get a hankerin’ for it. It does wear thin with me after the first iteration, but is welcomed after a hiatus. Freeze it in a container, and then slip the frozen disk of soup into a plastic bag so you don’t encumber your container. Easy to toss into a soup bowl and microwave back into deliciousness! ;->

  2. LFFL says:

    Great work again, Judilyn, serving up delicious fixins.

  3. The Editors of Garden Variety says:

    Looks simply wonderful and I love the bowl!

    • judilyn says:

      Everyone loves that bowl – especially me! ;-> Everything just looks so much more appealing in it.

      • The Editors of Garden Variety says:

        It’s so vibrant and fun!

      • judilyn says:

        It is a cherished bowl, and so often complements the food I put into it! If you have looked at any of my other posts, you will see lots of bright colors – in food and other objects. I love bright colors, as you will be able to see. ;-> Take a waltz around to see!

Leave a Reply

