Poached and Pineapple – Ham and Jam

polenta and pineapple_ham and jam

Here it is Sunday again, and time to haul out the brown eggs. We seem to have developed a taste for this meal to be done Hawai’ian style – that is pineapple sautéed in the pan with the ham. Improves the flavor of both items.

Formerly I melted cheese into the polenta, but today I shredded some pepper cheese on top of the pile. Gives a bigger bang for the calorie buck.

Everything else is self-explanatory – to say nothing of totally delicious and satisfying.

This meal was almost entirely consumed before I could get the picture downloaded and emailed off to myself. I feared for the safety of the contents of my plate!

BTW, it works out to about $1.50 a plate, including a bottomless cup of coffee! ;->

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Poached and Pineapple – Ham and Jam

  1. Kit says:

    I just checked my scales. . .I am actually gaining weight looking at your food pics!

    Who knew?

  2. Clanmother says:

    Your combinations of food bring zest and variety to your meals. Love the pairings.

  3. bjdewell says:

    I like the idea of frying up the ham and pineapple together. That and scrambled eggs would be wonderful. I had two soft boiled eggs and toast this morning. Got a dozen really large brown free range hen eggs at Wal-Mart and they are so good! Like the eggs I used to get from my own free range hens. Huge orange yolks. I cut up two buttered pieces of toast and mix it all in a bowl with a little salt and pepper. That’s what we used to do when we were kids, and my daughter still fixes it. One of those comfort meals that I love. 🙂

  4. LFFL says:

    Lol. Feared for safety? Well that’s pretty cheap! That’s my kind of cookin’. Cookin’ for cheap.

  5. dawnbmoore says:

    Your photos are always so gorgeous & lush, Judie, even if the subject matter is something that’s no longer on our culinary list. What do you use for poaching eggs? And yes–big gorgeous deep yellow yolks are the best!

  6. Cheap and healthy – exactly what people need… 🙂

Leave a Reply

