Roses Past Their Prime

wc dead roses.blog

In addition to the rose tree that gets so much attention, our yard also boasts a rose bush that produces smaller, red blooms in a mass profusion. They pop out all at once, sparkle for a few days, and then slowly become a bit “crispy”.

About a week ago, DH brought a sprig of them into the house to put into our one “vase” – which is actually a square vinegar bottle – where they smiled from the kitchen island for a few days, and then drooped piteously.

Their beauty was still apparent, though, so I took a few pictures of them and waited for them to become even more paperlike.

Today they were ready – at prime photogenicity (that’s probably not a real word, yah?) – so the above is what evolved.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Roses Past Their Prime

  1. Clanmother says:

    Fabulous! I love this effect – truly amazing how you were able to capture the beauty of the rose and hold it forever in a photo.

    • judilyn says:

      I have two 8 x 10 acrylic frames (one vertical and one horizontal) that will sit on my desk. I intended them to be a rotating display of photos that captured my fancy. I think this rendition of the dead roses will be the initial offering. It speaks to me somehow! ;->

  2. acasadisimi says:

    Hi! dear fiend! you have a good week end!

  3. Kit says:

    The shades of color; of light & dark are most intriguing. Excellent work! This piece works “stand alone”, no question. I challenge you, with your most excellent visionary skills, to now combine this work product with other images. . .perhaps contrasting in nature, perhaps complimentary. You are the artist. . .

  4. Jim Melvin says:

    What a beautiful pic!

  5. A work of art. So beautiful.

  6. Craig Sheumaker says:

    Very nice! What is the background?

    Craig Sheumaker 916-601-5007

    • judilyn says:

      I shot it on a white board on the dining room table. I have no memory of what I did in the manipulation of it. I have no method; I just pound on things until it looks “right” to me. I actually loved the starkness of it against the pure white background, but somehow wanted “more”.

      I had taken the picture with my ancient iPhone4 (don’t remember which “camera” app I used – probably Top Camera because it has Frames); fooled with it on the phone a bit; sent it to myself via email; and then pounded on it some more in Photoshop. Then switched to Perfect Effects and clicked things until that background popped up. Fiddled with the opacity until I liked what I was looking at. Obviously I could never duplicate anything – kind of like my food prep! ;->

  7. gypsy97 says:

    Amazing that they can still be beautiful in their final stages!

  8. LFFL says:

    I love when you take unusual pictures like these.

  9. Liz says:

    Reminds me of the days I used to dry roses and then just place them in vases for everโ€ฆcalled them everlasting!!!

Leave a Reply

