Summer = Wonderful Fruits

gary's fruit with clear cam.blog

I fix a big bowl of seasonal fruits every morning, and every morning more and more of it disappears. Today there were a few slices of the muskmelon and two blackberries left after the cereal locust came through.

Not shown, but he adds all this:

Large, flaked, unsweetened coconut, chopped pecans, homemade yogurt, and homemade granola

to his cereal bowl of cooked five-grain flakes before putting on all that fruit.

It’s been a slow process (YEARS!), but finally it turns out that I can hardly keep enough fruit on hand for DH. He eats all this at breakfast; at lunch time, after a hearty lunch, we haul out another batch and he eats it with his after-lunch glass of freshly-pressed carrot/celery/apple juice, and, yes, a few slivers of deep, dark, delicious chocolate. (Thank you, Trader Joe’s!)

Dinner time comes along, and, after pigging out on the meal, the fruit comes out again to overpower a tiny dab of Ben and Jerry’s “Coffee, Coffee, Buzz, Buzz, Buzz” ice cream, and gets smothered with chopped pecans, and a few more chocolate slivers, of course.

Where, you may well ask, does this man put all that food? Well, we’re hoping that all of these nutrients are helping to keep him alive. And, golly, he sure does love his groceries. This works out amazingly well, since it is obvious I like to cook! ;->

The banana tête–à–tête gave me a chuckle. I kept straightening them up, but as soon as I raised the camera, they were back smooching again.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Summer = Wonderful Fruits

  1. acasadisimi says:

    Hi dear friend! have a good weekend! kisses from Italy!
    Simi

    Like

  2. Kit says:

    >The banana tête–à–tête gave me a chuckle. I kept straightening them up, but as soon as I raised the camera, they were back smooching again.

    ‘Tis the fault of the banana peel. . .they are slippery devils, they are-they are!

    Like

  3. gypsy97 says:

    I love fresh fruit too. I just got back from a trip to Costco – besides my usual strawberries and blueberrries, I picked up a fresh pineapple, apricots, cherries (the drought has made them expensive 🙂 and grapes. I’ve been adding a handful of either chopped walnut or chopped pecans, and today I bought the bullet and got some whipped cream. The propellant is nitrous oxide, and I don’t mind that at all when I get dental work, so I just went for it! Just love my breakfast!

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      For fun . . . you can just squirt the whipped cream directly into your mouth and pretend it is soft dental work time! ;->

      I am always amazed at the volume of fruit that comes out of just one pineapple. It fills a three-cup glass container that I keep it in. I usually get two or three at a time, and then watch them like a hawk, waiting until the very last minute to cut one up. If they are a deep golden color, they are perfection! I just cut my third one yesterday from the last batch. It is the sweetest one of the bunch. I’ll need to get at least one new one soon, so that it can be ripening while we eat up this one. It is good in stir-fry veggies, too.

      Like

      • gypsy97 says:

        I haven’t cut a pineapple in years because I’ve always seemed to butcher them. Try, try again! My kids loved to squirt whipped cream into their mouths straight from the can. Whenever I heard the fridge door open I knew they were either into the whipped cream or the chocolate chip cookie dough. One time I thought I was being so clever getting a spoonful of the dough, but I could hear one of them in another room say, “Listen, she’s into the cookie dough”.

        Like

        • judilyn says:

          Pineapples are super easy. Cut off each end so you have a firm base, and then slice down the sides in narrow swaths. It may take twelve or more cuts, but if the pineapple is ripe, it should be really easy to do. I like the core because it reminds me of sugar cane from when I was a kid, but most folks toss that part. Just slice and cube what you’ve cut off, and enjoy it.

          Like

  4. Such a fresh looking plate. No doubt it has the power to heal. 🙂

    Like

  5. Liz says:

    I would love mine with Large, flaked, unsweetened coconut, and chopped nuts too. Mm sounds so delicious. Like I said before. I really love your style of eating!!!!

    Like

  6. Clanmother says:

    Over the past couple of years, I have become more and more addicted to fruits and vegetables. I know that if I have fruit on hand, I am more likely to chose an apple, orange etc over cake (I love sugar too much). I can see why DH eats all that fruit! 🙂

    Like

  7. LFFL says:

    I love good fresh fruit eatin’. Already chopped and ready to pop into the mouth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

