The Vegetable Plate

4 veg plate

A plate like this usually accompanies just about every lunch offering. Interestingly, DH says that when I cut cucumbers in this wedge shape, they taste different (not as good) as when I slice them across. I didn’t know that when I threw caution to the wind and made the veggies into wedgies!

This particular day, it went with a delicious soup that was quickly stirred up using the leftover cheese/dill sauce from the Sunday Brunch. Add ins were onions, mushrooms, grilled red peppers, cubed leftover potato, kale – all little bits of leftovers – and some little sausage meatballs that I keep in the freezer all the time. We squeezed lemon juice liberally into the soup. This REALLY brings out a fresh taste.

cheese sauce soup

There were also breadsticks that I toasted up from some herbed focaccia. We like breadsticks made ad hoc much better than the traditional way because they can be done up so quickly to complement either soup or a salad. They are nice and crispy without being too stiff.

Of course the last course was the requisite berries and chocolate shreds.

I’m probably the last person in the universe to figure this out, but I have been saving the unused part of a cucumber by peeling only the part I’m going to use, and then putting a little bit of plastic wrap over the cut end, securing it with a loose rubber band. That’s pretty ordinary, but the next step seemed to make a BIG difference in longevity.

I put the whole thing into a jar and screw the lid on tight. This somehow works better for retaining freshness than any other method I have ever tried, including plastic Lock & Lock containers and glass Pyrex food containers.

Give it a try! ;-> I’m going to try bananas next using this method. I already do the first part, but haven’t tried the jar part yet.

Stay tuned!

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Vegetable Plate

  1. gypsy97 says:

    I’ve been pricing mason jars during the last week – can’t believe how much they seem to have gone up, but I could be wrong on this. Cucumbers give me instant indigestion so I never eat them. I did eat the English cucumbers served in Ireland and they are much better, but I don’t like them well enough to bother with them.

  2. Shirley says:

    Looks really good! Let me know how the bananas do. I always end up tossing at least one. Not fond of them anyway but guess they are good for you ??? I love all the veggies.

    • judilyn says:

      The bananas have been doing fairly well on their own, but I expect better longevity using a jar. The empty refrigerated salad dressing jars with the wide tops are perfect for this use.

  3. Kit says:

    The mercados in Mulege (Baja, Mexico) sell super-ripe avocados & tomatoes. A plate of these sliced up delectibles, with salt & pepper and washed down with cold Coronas, was a most memorable feast!

  4. Clanmother says:

    You have the most fun in your kitchen! I agree with DH, there is a different taste when cucumbers are cut in wedges versus slices.

  5. Sherry says:

    Great idea about the jar, thanks. I still say you should be a chef. Your food looks as good as it tastes. Such beautiful presentation. Interesting about the taste differing in cukes sliced and wedged. Did you notice it?

  6. LFFL says:

    Lol. That’s is such crazy talk! My dad says the same thing about food tasting differently depending which way it’s sliced. Strange how I’ve never noticed that. But whatever makes ’em happy!

  7. Liz says:

    The vegetable plate attracted my attention and I didn’t know that cutting cucumbers in wedge shape gives them a different taste…I should try…I have cucumber right now but it’s not sitting in a jar. Let me try your foolproof method and see. Have a great day!

  8. rvjohn says:

    The vegetable plate looks good! About the slicing, for me it don’t matter just get them to me! LOL.

Leave a Reply

