BBQ Pork and Bok Choy Stir Fry

BBQ pork and bok choy stir fry

Yesterday I did a pork loin roast in my Nesco Roaster, and paid particular attention to the temperature of the meat. Usually a pork roast exudes so much of its juices that the roast itself tends to be dry. This time I baked it for about 15 minutes at about 425° to heat it through, and then turned the temperature down to 200°. I kept a close watch on the internal temperature. It was getting near to dinnertime and still at 160°, so I cranked up the Nesco’s control to 350°. That worked great; when the thermometer said 170°, out it came. Perfect-o!

The above picture is what I did tonight with a couple slices from the section that I kept out and did not put into the freezer. We are looking at a lot of good meals from this one roast.

The stir fry ingredients are bok choy, celery, carrot, red pepper, onion, Italian green beans (left over beans), and fresh tomato. At serving time I sprinkled on sliced almonds, sesame oil, and soya sauce. We both enjoyed this dish very much.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to BBQ Pork and Bok Choy Stir Fry

  1. taphian says:

    I’m sitting here, slobbering

  2. gypsy97 says:

    The meat sounds terrific. I haven’t had a pork roast in so long, but I no longer cook roasts since it’s just me and I would be eating it forever!

    • judilyn says:

      We eat small portions of meat, so a big piece of meat lasts a long time. I cut the finished product up into portions that will serve four (two meals for each of us), and then freeze them with some of the juices in the bag. This is like having your own deli at hand all the time. This roast had no bones, no fat to speak of, and cost $8.34. I expect to get six dinners, at least, from it. That is twelve servings. The part in the freezer is probably good for four dinners and some left over for club sandwiches, paninis, or Cuban sandwiches.

  3. Liz says:

    You’re making me drool…I love pork. and you have white rice too. I’m having some for dinner right now! Enjoy the weekend!

Leave a Reply

