Bird Bed and Breakfast

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

This was taken in the early Fall of 2005 in La Conner, Washington.

With the many birdhouses and the tree full of ripe peaches, I just couldn’t help thinking that the owners probably planned it that way as a treat for the birds.

There was a flock of about six turkeys walking around the streets of La Conner, too. Maybe you’ll see them tomorrow! ;->

So many of my blogger friends are up in Washington and Oregon right now that I am having a terrible time trying to read all of their blogs, and sort it all out in my mind with the many pictures and memories that I have of the area from our time there in 2005 and 2006.

I long to return to these areas for a Summer and Fall.

In the last house I lived in here in Arizona, there were plum, apricot, and peach trees. We got none of them to eat, but I figured it was like having a bird feeder that I didn’t have to fill every day. We saw not only a plethora of birds, but also ring-tailed cats, a fox, and probably other weasel-y type critters that like fruit and can climb trees.

Check out ANIMALS SPOTTED. I put up a couple of pictures of BIG BIRDS! ;->

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bird Bed and Breakfast

  1. gypsy97 says:

    All I have is one hummingbird feeder hanging on the porch where I can see it from my recliner. I would like to have bird feeders as well, but am afraid I’d be attracting squirrels which I don’t like. Oh, to have a peach tree!

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      A fruit tree surely attracts birds and mammals. I don’t know how orchards control this sort of thing, but our trees were huge, and those rascals got every fruit produced. Some avid birder friends always put out a plethora of bird feeders when they settle down for a bit in a campground, and they have figured out the squirrel problem. I haven’t paid attention to what they use, but it has been good for them for many years.

      Like

      • gypsy97 says:

        When I lived in Asheville I went into a local hardware store and asked “How can I keep the squirrels out of my bird feeder. One of the clerks looked stymied for a few seconds and then laughingly said “Get a gun”. I’m convinced that’s the only thing that will stop them. Now I’m in CA and don’t see nearly the number of squirrels as in NC, but I have never set out a bird feeder. In NC they even tried to get into the hummingbird feeder.

        Like

  2. dreamjosie says:

    That looks really nice. I was going to ask you where you stayed and why La Conner. But then I went to RV Park reviews and see these is a Thousand Trails park there so assumed that’s where and why.

    I see how close it is to Anacortes though (20 minutes) so unlikely we’d stay there because we love the Fidalgo Bay RV park a lot in Anacortes. But it looks like someplace we should drive down and visit if we ever found ourselves up that way.

    Like you, I really long to go back there and I haven’t given up hope that we may make it up there next year.

    Jo Wishnie 414-704-2000 Blog at: http://www.mytripjournal.com/wanderingwishnies Traveling with my DH Fred and the 2 fur kids: Phoenix the Phantom Pheline and Boo Boo the Diva Dog

    *Happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have, but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have.*

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      We popped back and forth between La Conner and Mount Vernon Thousand Trails Preserves for several months on into mid-October, then headed south to Oregon. There was so much to see and the Mount Vernon Thousand Trails Preserve had wild blackberries everywhere for the picking. You know how we love fruit on our gruel, so you can only imagine how many of those lovelies ended up in our tummies.

      I looked at the Fidalgo Bay RV Park at the time, but was worried about some possibility of air pollution from what appeared to be smokestacks nearby. Did you find that to be the case?

      Like

  3. Clanmother says:

    Lovely!! I’m in and our of WIFI so hope this comment goes through. I can read the posts but sometimes I can’t make comments.

    Like

  4. Liz says:

    It looks so beautiful and the shot is great too, so colourful. I would want to return to such a place too!

    Like

  5. LFFL says:

    I haven’t seen a real birdhouse around in forever.

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      There are a lot out here because we have a lot of birds. This is a migratory pathway to Mexico and probably South America. A campground that we stayed in when visiting Silver City had many unique ones. I blogged about them a couple of years ago.

      Like

Leave a Reply

