Poached Eggs with Marinated Tomato Strips

poached w marinated tomato strips.blog

I tried a new method for poaching the eggs this morning, and they held together much better. I had tried putting vinegar into the water, and putting salt into the water. Each worked fairly well. But today I used both, and it was a BIG improvement.

Our Sunday brunch was much enhanced with the perfectly poached eggs.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Poached Eggs with Marinated Tomato Strips

  1. bjdewell says:

    Your breakfast looks delicious – I love poached eggs (in Eggs Benedict). Do you drop the egg into simmering water in a pan? I used to have an egg cooker, and it poached the eggs perfectly. My kids have pans with the egg cups in them that are placed in the simmering water. I’d like to just drop them in the water. 🙂

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      I’ve had those egg cups that go into a special pan, but I always thought the whites got too rubbery, so I started doing them in just water. It seems to me that it makes a difference in the tenderness of the whites. I use a form that is meant for making English muffins. I grease the bottom of the pan and the inside of the muffin ring with ghee so that the eggs don’t stick to anything and shred when I try to remove them from the water.

      This works out great for my two-egg portion. Gary eats only one egg at a time, so I just slide his directly into the water from a small, slightly couped saucer, and kind of hold it in place until the white starts to coagulate a bit. If you are putting just one or two into a pan on their own, I’ve read that you can get the water swirling, and then drop the egg into the vortex, and the white will wrap itself around the yolk. I’ve tried it a time or two, and it DOES work, but it is a nuisance to try to get three of them going. If I were making just one or two for myself, I would do the swirly thing, and drop the egg(s) into the swirl from the shallow saucer all at once.

      I saw a recipe last night that just about sent me over the edge.

      http://foodwishes.blogspot.ca/2013/05/you-can-count-on-monte-cristo-benedict.html

      Like

  2. I’ve always used both salt and vinegar. It really works the best.
    The poached eggs look perfect. Do you serve them with scrambled eggs as well?

    Like

  3. gypsy97 says:

    Beautiful photo and everything looks yummy, although I almost always scramble my eggs, probably because it’s the easiest way to cook them, and I could mix all the other stuff with them as they cook. I don’t remember when or why I became so lazy!

    Like

  4. miltonjohns says:

    Looks wonderful. A pinch of salt & a splash of vinegar into a large pan of boiling water. Once the water is boiling, turn it off & gently add the eggs on either side of the pan for 3 minutes. Perfect every time. None of this swirling has ever worked for me.

    Like

  5. LFFL says:

    Well-presented. Love the color.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.