Swan’s Down is Softasilk

softasilk.blog

Who remembers cake flour? I hadn’t used it in ages – maybe thirty years – and was astounded by the price of it these days. This two-pound box was over $4.00 recently.

Fortunately, I use it in small amounts in the pancakes, but am seeing references here and there, mostly for pancakes, more frequently now, so maybe there is a resurgence in use.

Both of the above brand names were prevalent in the past, but I found only Softasilk in the grocery store here. I always loved the connotation of “swan’s down” – it sounds like the softest thing imaginable! My sleeping bag is filled with goose down, but swan’s down? Well, that sounds almost magical. ;->

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Swan’s Down is Softasilk

  1. Andrea says:

    I remember it too. It’s bleached and enriched though so not so healthy…

  2. Kit says:

    Hmmmm. . .our own Dr. J. . .living on the edge? Egads!

  3. Clanmother says:

    And I know that whatever you do with it will be magic!

  4. Sherry says:

    It just sounds so soft to say the words “swan’s down”. Ahhhhhhhh! I guy whole wheat and spelt cake flour in Whole Foods in bulk. Love it for cakes and pancakes.

  5. gypsy97 says:

    I haven’t used it in years either. I used to have recipes for cakes that called for it by name, and it definitely had a finer texture than when I used regular flour.

  6. Liz says:

    Totally new to me but that cake looks scrumptious. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

