Great Northern White Beans

bean soup.blog

We’re on a bean kick these days. This soup and salad provided great energy and nourishment. The yellow-ish stuff is spicy red pepper hummus. After my disastrous attempt to make it, I am now content to purchase it when it is on sale. Otherwise, it is unreasonably expensive. The little slices of sausage are from a local grass-fed farm. It has a unique taste; not overpoweringly GARLIC like so many sausages are. Very nice accompaniment to the beans.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Great Northern White Beans

  1. gypsy97 says:

    Years ago I made bean soup with great northerns at least a couple times a year. I purchased the beans already cooked from a local company, and they were better than any I ever cooked from scratch. Ham and bean soup was one of my favorites!

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      I used to make this when I had a good shank ham bone, but now I seldom get a large ham, so just make it more often using sausage or bits of ham. Not that same “down home, Deep South” flavor, but perfectly acceptable.

      After years of believing salt should never be added before the beans are soft, I now put salt in the overnight soak water. I think it makes the beans cook more evenly. I use my little 6-cup crock pot, so the amount is just right for two lunch bowls for each of us. One cup of dried beans does it. Give it a try. ;->

      Like

  2. All looks great and I’m envious you can get sausages from a local grass-fed farm. Sound amazing.

    Like

  3. dreamjosie says:

    What’s so hard about making hummus? It’s one of the easiest things in the world to make. Here’s a link to Laurie Brown’s recipe which I’ve made many times: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1S8BxE1qa0gv4oMvKZZYeMpQSQgleCu2aHv0gO4U_p0U/edit .

    Jo Wishnie 414-704-2000 Blog at: http://www.mytripjournal.com/wanderingwishnies Traveling with my DH Fred and the 2 fur kids: Phoenix the Phantom Pheline and Boo Boo the Diva Dog

    *Happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have, but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have.*

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      I started with sesame seeds to make the tahini part. That was my mistake. It was always gritty. I’ll check out Laurie’s recipe. Thanks for the tip off! ;-> I have about 16 red peppers, so should be able to roast some of them to add to it.

      Like

  4. Laurie Brown says:

    Your comment about being on a bean kick struck a chord, as I have been, too. I get our dried beans from Rancho Gordo, a company in Napa. So many interesting varieties! Like you, I now soak them in salted water overnight and find they have a more consistent texture (no little firm beans hidden amongst the soft ones) when cooked. I also have been adding some smoked salt that my sister shared with me – adds a depth of flavor that seems very rich. For dinner the other night, we had Good Mother Stallard beans with pre-cooked Mediterranean lamb shanks from Costco. YUM!

    I chuckled when I read through the comments and found Jo’s link to my hummus recipe, as I had thought to myself “hmmmm, what’s difficult about making great hummus?”

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      I’m a gonna try your recipe when my current batch is gone. I received an email from Rancho Gordon yesterday, so may place an order soon. For years, I mail ordered a variety of beans from The Beanbag, but the company seems to have disappeared. Thanks for the push to experiment more with the hummus. I just need to get some commercial tahini, it seems.

      Like

  5. Sherry says:

    Hmmm I make my hummus from chickpeas. Guess I’d better look at Laurie’s recipe too.

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      Chick peas, garbanzos, ceci beans are all just different names for the same bean. I’m going to get some commercial tahini before I try it again. Grinding up the sesame seeds was unsuccessful in getting a smooth paste. Hummus makes a great snack and dip.

      Like

Leave a Reply

