The Golden Girls

One of the fun things about getting old is that there is more time to play with toys. And I do have a lot of fun playing with my photography toys.

While tidying up a box of papers (treasures, all!) the other day, I happened on this birthday card that was sent to me a couple of years ago by one of the three high school chums of mine that still stay in touch with each other via email. I love the ability to do this. They are all in Florida, and I am about 2200 miles west of there! What magic it is to be able to pass things around with friends – an electronic “over the back fence” experience!

I wanted to make the picture look “vintage”. I did it first with my iPhone, but it was too sketchy, so I tried again with Photoshop. Not a big change, but it made me smile.

add old tone-sunglasses on deck cropped v2

What is ironic is that I have a pink hat much like the one on the lady on the left-hand side of the picture. In fact, if you did a computer “age progression” from a picture of me as a kid, it would probably look a lot like the lady on the left – dorky smile and all.

The much more sophisticated lady on the right looks somewhat like the friend, Carol, that sent me the card. She always has had a knack for “style”!

Here’s what the original picture looked like straight out of the camera; in this case, an iPhone 4, using ClearCam. I took the picture out on the back deck railing in the bright sunlight this morning.

work - add old tone-sunglasses on deck cropped

The sunglasses? Well, I have been hoarding them for over twenty years! They were passed out to employees at some point when I worked at Apple Computer, and I have been gone from there since 1994! Not sure why I was keeping them as they were long out of style even when they were passed out. There was an accompanying slogan that went with them . . .

THE FUTURE’S SO BRIGHT, YA’ GOTTA’ WEAR SHADES!

This was just before Apple was being pounded by all and sundry as “beleaguered Apple” for so many years. Guess who got the last laugh? Wish I hadn’t sold my stock back in 1997!

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Golden Girls

  1. gypsy97 says:

    You are so creative! And I wish I had Apple stock I could have hung on to.

    • judilyn says:

      Definitely a bad move on my part. I don’t want to even THINK about what it would be worth today. I bought the max I could for almost nine years! ARGH!!!

  2. Bev Parks says:

    Good job! And, until I read the text, I actually thought that WAS YOU on the left!

  3. Liz says:

    I do love the photo. It’s unique, full of colour and beautiful. At first I thought it was a movie poster or a book cover! What an amazing job you did.

  4. Sherry says:

    LOVE the sunglasses. Can’t believe you sold your apple stock. Oh SIGH. That’s like my mother who was encouraged to invest in Apple Records in the late 50’s but didn’t.

  5. Linda says:

    Judi, you are so clever. I always look forward to your posts! All the best to you and Gary.

  6. taphian says:

    really nice work, Judie

  7. Kit says:

    Who needs stock when you have such a cool collection of shades. . .

Leave a Reply

