Pepper Steak, Louisiana Style

beans and beef.blog

There is so much to say about this picture . . .

What are those foods? Organic sirloin tip steak, gravy from the meat juices, grilled onions, beet greens, roasted red peppers, red beans and rice. And that beautiful roll? That contains my new favorite add-in items for bread – pumpernickel meal and teff. Neither one really makes any taste difference, but the body is much improved. We use these buns mostly for panini sandwiches, and they really hold up under the pressing.

When I make these rolls, I also make a focaccia. We use that for other bread uses, like toast for breakfast, open-faced sandwiches, mega-quick pretend pizza, garlic dinner bread, bread sticks, toast for tomato/cheese/avocado bread, to dunk in oil and vinegar, or for just snacking on in the afternoon, with or without butter and honey, depending on length of time before dinner.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Pepper Steak, Louisiana Style

  1. gypsy97 says:

    You make me want to run out and buy a sirloin tip steak!

    • judilyn says:

      Recommended! But don’t cook it passed medium rare or it can get really tough. I cooked it all (1.6 pounds) as the leftover meat heats back up in a few seconds without getting any further cooked. We had some last night, and Gary stood over the pan with his plate, pondering a refill. Finally he decided that he was just wanting to eat more because it was so good, and not because he was still hungry. He decided he would wait until lunch time today and have the rest as an open-faced, hot roast beef sandwich. I’ll slow fry a big onion and roast some red pepper to go with it.

      Probably a good choice. ;->

  2. Looks great and healthy.
    Teff is such a great grain. I love the Ethiopian fermented bread (actually looks like a huge pancakes) made with it. It has such a unique flavor.

    • judilyn says:

      I read years ago that the word “teff” means “lost” because it is so tiny and can get lost so easily! Not sure if that is true. I was introduced to teff by Sheryl and Mel London, in their book “The Versatile Grain and the Elegant Bean” back in the early 90’s, so maybe that’s where I read about the meaning of the word. I keep a pound of it around to put into breads, just for fun. We tried it as a cooked cereal, but no go on that front.

      • judilyn says:

        Tell me about the fermented bread with teff, please! ;->

      • I agree – it’s not a cereal grain…

      • It’s called “Injera” – it’s supposed to be highly nutritious and pro-biotic.
        I love it because it is quite sour, but I know a lot of people who don’t like it, for the very same reason. It’s definitely an acquired taste…
        It’s not so easy to make at home, so I usually enjoy it when I go to an Ethiopian restaurant. The idea is to cut a piece of the bread and gather the food with it. The combination of flavors is, in my opinion, amazing.

        You can find more details here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Injera

      • judilyn says:

        Thanks! I’ll take a look. Gary loves Afghan and Ethiopian food, but there are no restaurants like that around here. There was one in Sunnyvale, though, when we lived in California, but I think that was Turkish, but maybe Afghan.

      • I once bought Injera online, but that was for a big party, so it was worth the trouble.
        But since you already have Berbere, you’re half way through cooking an Ethiopian dish… 😀

      • judilyn says:

        The Berbere always goes on the table with the other shakers at lunch and dinner. I’ve seen the word “injera” before, but don’t know much about it. Always something to learn.

  3. LFFL says:

    Lol. I love how everything arranged so neatly on the plate. 🙂

Leave a Reply

