Reheating Without a Microwave

Reheat without a microwave .blog

A lot of our meals are made partially or totally from foods from other meals. Reheating in a microwave seems to make the food exeedingly unappetizing; dried out, even. I usually reheat things on the stove in a covered pan. A nice trivet will allow water in the pan to make steam without soaking the food. This gentle heat does an excellent job of reheating foods to their original tasty state.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Reheating Without a Microwave

  1. gypsy97 says:

    I never did like most foods reheated in a microwave, and I’m embarrassed to say I usually eat leftovers right out of the fridge, cold. Your method sounds good to me.

  2. Dan says:

    Good Idea!

  3. I detest microwaves and happily don’t own one. I usually use a small toaster-oven to reheat foods, or in a covered pan. But your perforated trivet idea looks perfect for moist items. Thanks for sharing this nice tip! πŸ™‚

  4. Sharon says:

    That’s an idea I can use because my little trailer doesn’t have a microwave. Thanks!

    • judilyn says:

      If the food you want to reheat could stand a bit less moisture, preheat the pan and trivet with a bit of water until the whole pan is good and hot, and most of the water has evaporated. Leave or put just a tablespoon or so of water in the pan, spray the top of the food with a fine mist from a spray bottle, cover and turn the heat low so it doesn’t burn up the pan if the water evaporates more quickly than you kept track of.

      • Sharon says:

        Judie, that’s a biggie. Thank you, really! I had a microwave in my little Casita, but needed the space for food. So everything is low tech. We love leftovers, but I have had trouble making them taste fresh. This should do it!!! I suppose, if needed, one could add another spoon or two of water.

        You would have laughed at my dinner tonight. It started out as a thai curry, but I didn’t like it, so started messing with it. By the time I finished, it was a passable Indian curry, which we loved! πŸ˜€

        Served with quinoa, which is new to us. We are instant addicts! And the best thing is, it really is better left over!

      • judilyn says:

        Be sure to get one of the little cosmetic spray bottles to keep full of distilled (or at least purified) water in the kitchen. You will be surprised at how often you need to refill it. A fine mist of moisture on the top of something as it heats can make the difference between “dry” and “delicious”, especially if you are reheating something in the toaster oven.

  5. Sharon says:

    Another duh moment for me. I never thought of that! Thanks again! You are my cooking guru!

    • judilyn says:

      It’s one of those things that I discovered on my own about five years ago, and am very proud of how well it works. If you use a paper filter in a coffee funnel, it is great for getting the filter to stick to the sides of the funnel so you don’t spill the coffee grinds that you put into the filter! If you can find a two-piece steamer with a lid, you will think you have died and gone to heaven in reheating.

      Tonight I put some water in the bottom, green beans in the top, and steamed the beans until almost done. Then I put already cooked new potatoes in the bottom in the water that was left from steaming and let it sit for about five minutes. The potatoes were small, but not quite hot enough, so I brought the water to a boil. shut it off, put the potatoes in the small bit of water left, and put the beans back on top to stay warm. Perfect! I baked a meatloaf and cornbread in the toaster oven in tandem. The meatloaf had to sit to finish cooking, so the cornbread baked in the already-pre-heated toaster oven in about 15 minutes. I make just half a recipe and use a very shallow pan. A great accompaniment to meatloaf and green beans!

      If you are going to reheat something sticky, like rice, put some water in the bottom, and spray a bit of water on the floor (bottom) of the top part (where the holes are). For some reason, this helps to keep the rice (or noodles) from sticking unduly. This system is great in a camper. I have used mine in tiny camper kitchens for well over twenty years. It’s good for freshening rolls, too.

      Mine set is called Anolon and is a very good non-stick surface, but it is decades old and I haven’t ever seen one like it in many years. This is the idea:

      but this isn’t non-stick, if that matters to you. It is a great investment in making your food ever so much tastier the second time around. This trick also works in a shallow frying pan with a lid. If the food doesn’t need to be soaked in moisture, just leave the lid ajar a bit, but keep your eye on it. The water evaporates quickly.

      • Sharon says:

        Judie! I have an identical, but cheap, version of that small steamer on Amazon! Mine is stainless, but it’s thin. I wanted a heavier one, but that’s all I could find when I was looking for it. All I have used it for is steaming vegetables.

        You would think a camper who tries to make every item fill at least two functions would have put it together that it would be great for leftovers, but noooooooooooo! In fact, it is in my kitchen and I’ve never used it in the camper. It goes out there tomorrow!

        Sometimes I am not nearly as intelligent as I think I am!!!

      • judilyn says:

        You’d be surprised what miracles steam can perform!

  6. taphian says:

    really good idea for your wonderful food, virtual hugs Mitza

Leave a Reply

