A New Use for Cherry Juice

cereal w cherry juice

The new darling in our household is tart cherry juice. I’d been reading for years about its healthful properties, but never got around to actually purchasing any. For health reasons, it is now a staple in our household, and I am finding more and more delightful uses for it. True, two tablespoons in a glass of distilled water makes an attractive and delicious after-lunch drink, but there are other ways to enjoy it, too.

To add to my delight, I read recently that oatmeal and orange juice have great healthful properties when combined. I have been putting orange juice, instead of milk, on my cereal for as long as I can remember, so this brought a smile to my face as well.

The yogurt that I put on top of the cereal is very thick, so what seems like a small amount is really quite adequate to add dairy to my breakfast. Underneath the blanket of chia, sesame and sunflower seeds that you can see are chopped up bits of about six different fresh fruits, in addition to the dried cranberries and diced dates that are in the five-grain cereal itself.

When I make my cereal this morning, I will use up most of the remaining yogurt, so today is the day I make more! ;->

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A New Use for Cherry Juice

  1. Joan says:

    I get tart cherry juice at Trader Joe’s ; is that your source, too?

    TJ’s used to carry an all-juice, no added sugar blend called “Triple Berry”; it was cranberry, blueberry, and pomegranate juices. Unfortunately, it was discontinued a couple years ago. Never found the same product anywhere else. 😦

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      Hi Joan – Welcome! The Triple Berry juice sounds good. Trader Joe’s has had some really good products that seem to vanish, i.e. maple yogurt! Now that stuff was just too sinfully delicious for words.

      It’s 150 miles round trip to Trader Joe’s, so we don’t get there as often as we would like to. I liked it better when I was less than two miles when we lived in Sunnyvale ! Whining aside . . . I mail order the tart cherry juice in the concentrated form from either Amazon or Vitacost – no shipping costs if ordered according to their rules. Unless on some particular sale, it is the same price at either place – within a few pennies of each other. It is definitely NOT sweet! The name “tart cherry juice” on the label leans heavily towards “tart”!

      I buy it in just the 16-ounce size, since it takes a while to use it up, so that adds a bit to the cost. The 32-ounce bottle is about a dollar cheaper per 16 ounces. My first bottle was in glass (Amazon), but subsequent purchases have been from Vitacost, and their store brand is in plastic. So once opened, I decant the juice into the washed out glass bottle for storage in the refrigerator. The plastic ones may be safer for transporting inside a Lazy Daze, though! ;-> Be sure they remain upright. One of the three in my last purchase was somehow leaking. It looked like the top of the plastic bottle had been bashed sufficiently to cause a hairline crack, thus allowing just a bit of the juice to seep out. Not wanting to take any chances with Gary’s health, I tossed it out and asked for a refund, which was taken care of within minutes.

      Take a waltz around Amazon gourmet section to see what you can find. Ditto on Vitacost. There are many, many products in the food category at each place.

      Like

  2. Did you notice that the cherry juice looks like a witch riding a broomstick?

    Like

  3. Sherry says:

    Is that Cherry juice on top of the yogurt?

    Like

  4. taphian says:

    Hi Judie, that looks very healthy and delicious. Have a nice week-end, regards Mitza

    Like

Leave a Reply

