Mash Soup

mash soup.blog

Apparently a very popular dish in England is Bangers and Mash – mashed potatoes and sausage. We didn’t have that, but I did have a lot of mashed potatoes left over the other night. I also had about a quart of nice, rich chicken bone broth that was just begging to become soup.

Never one to be shy about tossing disparate things into a pan and turning on the heat, that’s exactly what I did. But first I sautéed a big pile of chopped onions, added some leftover broccoli, and scooped up some of my previously-roasted and frozen red peppers to add color, and then thickened it with a slurry of flour and milk. Of course there were “bangers” of a sort, too. DH loves him his Italian sausage! So in went a bunch of little sausage cubes and several slabs of sharp Cheddar cheese.

I buy several pounds of ground sausage at a time, and break up each package of meat into about 30 little cubed-shaped meatballs and fry ’em up in my cast iron skillet. I don’t bother to make them round because I’ve never found that this makes one bit of difference in use, and just made my hands messy. They’re actually easier to brown on all sides that way, too.

When they are done, I toss them into small baggies laid out flat on a foam meat tray so that they freeze in one layer, and into the freezer they go. When they have frozen solid, I put all of the baggies into a heavy-duty freezer bag for longer-term storage. It is so handy to pull out just the amount I need for any given dish without having to go through the frying process. Think quickie PIZZA!

On top of the soup you can see a dollop of sour cream sprinkled with berbere, and a good coating of dill – because I love dill!

We’re not having much of any cold weather yet (it’s 71 degrees on our deck right now), but this would make an excellent chilly-day warmer upper soup.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mash Soup

  1. Kit says:

    Dr. J shy? “Nevah!”

  2. Sharon says:

    Oh, good! Another fun dish to make. I love dill, too!

Leave a Reply

