Sloppy Jose “Burger”

sloppy jose.blog

This is the final dish that I made with the pre-cooked hamburger meat. I broke up the patty into the pan and added some saved pan deglazings to rehydrate the meat after its banishment in the refrigerator. When it was soft, I added a bit of BBQ sauce and some pasta sauce from a jar to create a tomato-y, but not overly BBQ’y, ambience. Then I added cumin, Mexican oregano, and mild red chili paste, and let it simmer for about five or ten minutes until it was sufficiently “sloppy”.

The base is a toasted whole grain hamburger bun and the toppings are grated extra sharp Cheddar cheese, and scallions. The little pile of tomato bits on top were created from the ends that I cut off the Roma tomatoes, whose more meaty center slices border the dish.

Alas, the avocado that I had planned to add was not up to snuff. 😦

Three days before Christmas, we had these three visitors to the water pond.

Animals Spotted

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sloppy Jose “Burger”

  1. Nancy says:

    Love the name of this one, Judie! Looks good too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. gypsy97 says:

    Great idea and it looks delish!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. taphian says:

    it’s not nice to look at this when you are hungry, hehe. Virtual hugs, Mitza

    Like

  4. bjdewell says:

    One of the things I love about your blog is that when I’m out of the “cooking mood,” I can read a couple of your posts and find something to get me back on track. The recipes always sound so easy, not a lot of ingredients, and the photos are gorgeous and look delicious. This one might be on my plate tonight. I have one hamburger patty left, and am defrosting it as soon as I hit Post Comment. I can toast some French bread for the base. Thanks, AGAIN!, Judi! 🙂

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      Always glad to be of service! Actually, that is EXACTLY my purpose in doing this blog, i.e. to show how really easy it is to eat well and not out of boxes and cans. If there is a “secret”, it is to make sure that you save what you have cooked if you don’t eat it all right away, and then expand on it. It is a great feeling to create something delicious, especially knowing that it is healthy and you are not wasting food. It is a bonus if it is beautiful, too, but that doesn’t always happen.

      Like

Leave a Reply

