Bright, Shiny Carrots

BBQ chix carrots.blog

Back to bright and shiny! I get lazy and don’t shred the carrots sometimes, but they are oh, so much better when I do. This was really a treat of a meal – colorful, tasty, and a joy to look at.

The white stuff is regular cous cous, which I don’t think of very often, but it is really good with something like this, and so very easy. Just put a cup of the grains into not quite two cups of boiling water or broth, turn off the heat and wait five minutes. Fluff a bit, and enjoy.

Cous cous is hard to reheat by steaming because the grains are so tiny, so when there are leftovers, I usually just put them into soup. It really thickens up the liquid nicely, and gives a pleasing mouth feel to an otherwise more broth-y type of soup.

The cranberry relish goes so well with BBQ’d things, as it gives a counterbalanced piquantness to the sharpness of the sauce.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bright, Shiny Carrots

  1. gypsy97 says:

    I’ve never shredded carrots, probably because I’m too lazy, but I may try it one of these days. I like couscous but never fix it anymore because it seems to go all over the place! How do you make your cranberry relish? It looks very good, and maybe I should try something other than the sauce/jelly that I usually make.

    • judilyn says:

      The cranberry relish is embarrassingly easy – a bag of cranberries (12 oz), an orange, and a cup of sugar. Run the cranberries through a food processor using the pulse feature. Cut up the orange, peel and all, into manageable bits, and do the same thing with them in the food processor. My particular processor takes just twenty pulses, but it is a 625-watt unit, so a smaller machine might require a bit more time. Then stir in the sugar by hand. The recipe calls for two cups of sugar, but that is way too sweet for our tastes. It freezes beautifully, so I make about eight cups (two times the above amounts, but do it one batch at a time) and freeze it in little sandwich bags and then into a freezer bag. It is flat, so thaws out in a flash for use.

      • gypsy97 says:

        I guess I’m embarrassed to to say I have never had a food processor. I do everything the long old fashioned way (nothing against helpful appliances but I just never got around to needing one). I suppose I could chop everything together. So it doesn’t get cooked?

      • judilyn says:

        I think if one of your kids has a food processor, you could borrow it once a year to make this delightful accompaniment. Before food processors (GASP), I made it in a food grinder, but doing it by hand . . . I don’t think that would be feasible. Neither the cranberries nor the orange lends itself to being chopped by hand. The flavors need to mingle, thus need to be wee. I can’t picture trying to cut a cranberry into about a dozen pieces!

        No, it isn’t cooked. To my way of thinking, there is no reason to eat any other kind of cranberry dish once this has been in one’s venue!

  2. Boeta says:

    Boeta would love it.

    • judilyn says:

      Is “Boeta” pronounced with two syllables or three, and is it a word local for you – perhaps “baby” – or a regular given name? He’s an adorable child and obviously gives you great pleasure. ;->

      • Boeta says:

        Term of endearment, 2 syllables, Bhoe..ta. It can mean brother or son, depending who is being called boeta. Usually with family, but can be used in non family too, like hey, boeta, what are you doing (Hey, boy, what are you doing). Hope that helps…so daddy is a Boeta and our son is one too.

      • judilyn says:

        Many thanks for the lesson. ;-> My husband voted for two syllables, but I take everything too literally apparently, and was reading it aloud with three syllables. A great word – I’ll add it to my vocabulary!

      • Boeta says:

        We decided to use it rather that real names, but in a sense we are, because we call him that a lot, so do my parent me, as well as my siblings.

      • judilyn says:

        A very versatile word, indeed! ;->

  3. taphian says:

    Always wait for your food posts in order to get hungry, virtual hugs, Mitza

Leave a Reply

