Rest in Peace

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

When we were visiting the local ghost town, Fairbank, on Thursday, we hiked the <half mile trail up to the local cemetery. There was not much left of anything there now, but there was a nice bench to rest on and view the valley below.

The picture above is one that I took just about ten years ago on March 27th, 2005. I made the rocks a little more colorful than they probably actually were, even back then, because I like bright colors. I'm sure they looked like that when they were first put there because I only intensified the colors that were extant in the photograph. Over a hundred years of bright Arizona sunlight can tend to fade colors!

There seem to be stuffed animals at the headstone area, so it is possible that this is the grave of a child, but there is nothing visible to read to indicate who might be resting there.

A short dig into Google produced this interesting, but brief, site about the history of Fairbank and its cemetery.

http://www.apcrp.org/FAIRBANK/Fairbank_Master_Doc.htm

Tomorrow I will post a picture of what is left of the mill mentioned at the end of the document above.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rest in Peace

  1. Dale Ellis says:

    Now your cooking’ the stuff I like! 😉

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      “Cooking”??? LOL!!! Come visit; we’ll take you up there! Or have you already been?

      Like

      • Dale Ellis says:

        the spell checker got me. It was supposed to be cookin’. No, I have not been there. I’ve been in Tombstone a few times, but guess I missed Fairbank. I’ll take you up on your offer when I make down there.

        Like

  2. gypsy97 says:

    The cemetery research is fascinating. When I became interested in genealogy research I grew to love visiting cemeteries. I still like to stroll through them and read the stones.

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      There really isn’t anything to read in this cemetery. It was fairly primitive to start with, and then left in disrepair forever. The site mentioned was quite interesting. A lot of research must have gone into that effort. I’m glad he did it.

      Like

  3. Shirley says:

    I loved these pictures , my brother and I visited there last Feb. I don’t know if I could make it up to the cemetery again! The scenery is so beautiful from up there! Thanks!!!

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      It’s only .4 of a mile up there, but on a hot day, it would be a chore. There is a nice bench to rest on and drink the water that you brought with you. Going down is harder, at least for me, because of the angle and the little “ball bearing”-type rocks that I slid on. I use walking poles now, and was glad to have them. There were three instances where I would have fallen if not for the poles.

      Like

Leave a Reply

