Yellow Corn

corn on trivet.blog

We try to avoid corn products these days because of the GMO situation, but it is basically a lost cause. I get organic when practical, but hopefully our bodies will survive a few aberrations in this regard.

Safeway had some early corn at eight for a dollar this week. I usually pass on the early corn, but this looked really good, so four ears made it into my basket yesterday. As I was just about to step up to the counter where the corn was displayed, a tiny little lady came barreling in like she was on a quest. I wasn’t in her way, and she was all smiles.

As happens frequently in the grocery store, we exchanged pleasantries . . . she was all agog at how delicious the corn was. “We ate all six ears last night” says she! She quickly acquired six more ears. Later on at the checkout lane, she and her husband were nattering on, and I’m pretty sure they were reminiscing about their enjoyment of the previous evening, and the anticipation of more.

Well that was good enough for me. As we found out later, her enthusiasm was well founded.

I know this isn’t much of a photograph, but I didn’t think to take a picture until we had each consumed half an ear, and I really wanted to share this sweet story. The other half of each ear was keeping warm on the stove, so I quickly snapped the photo before we gobbled up those remaining halves.

The photo does show, though, how easy it is to steam corn in a small two-quart pot. No need for a huge vessel full of water.

And, yes, there are still two more ears for tonight! ;->

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yellow Corn

  1. Holly Knott says:

    I especially like the price you paid! We’re seeing 6 for $3 at the grocery store and even 6 for $4 at a smaller, mom-and-pop style organic foods store. UGH.

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      Produce is pretty abundant here, and prices are embarrassingly low. I spent $7.66 the other day, and half of that was for a pound of mushrooms, and it took both of us both arms to carry it all in. I could bore you details, but you would just wish you could live here! ;->

      Like

  2. gypsy97 says:

    I don’t eat corn very often but I usually succumb at least once during the summer. Yours sure looks delicious.

    Like

  3. Jan says:

    Have you ever tried in microwave? It is really easy and very good.

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      I formerly did it in the microwave, leaving on the husks and putting water under them, but I rarely use the microwave any more for food. I like the ease of steaming.

      Like

  4. Kim says:

    As we say in the south …. Mmmm, mmmm, and pass the butter please ma’am.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

