It’s Chili Today

  
Yesterday it was Meat Sauce and Linguini. 
Last night I soaked up a cup of red beans and then cooked them in the Rival Crock-ette for a few hours this morning.  At lunch time, I took out about half of the beans and put them, along with appropriate Mexican spices, into the leftover meat sauce.   Et voila – instant chili. 
There was some yellow rice leftover from two nights ago, so that made a perfect bed for the chili. DH said he was putting the brakes on his spoon because the chili was so good that he didn’t want the experience to come to an end.   While my back was turned, some tortilla chips jumped into the chili – somehow!
For dinner tonight, I’ll make a batch of white rice, and we will have Red Beans and Rice, with pork chops and an undetermined vegetable.  Maybe I’ll make some shredded carrot salad with pineapple. 
Cornbread is also a distinct possibility. 
The chili that was left from today is sufficient to make a couple of generously-sized burritos for a future lunch. 
I surely get my value from that little Crock-ette; it does wonders with 85 watts. 

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to It’s Chili Today

  1. Kit says:

    It’s chili today, you say? Dang, the weather guesser had it all wrong! At least he has it right for tamale. . .

  2. gypsy97 says:

    I might use a crock pot more if I got a small one like yours. I’ll put that on my Costco list!

  3. judilyn says:

    It holds six cups and does a bang-up job on beans, meats, potatoes, carrots, beef stew, and bone broth. Probably a lot of other things, too, but those are my big uses. I’ve sliced up a bunch of onions and cooked them for garnishes, burger toppings, omelet fillings, etc, AND for the very best onion soup!

    It’s the perfect size for one or two people.

  4. taphian says:

    great, Judie, virtual hugs Mitza

  5. Sherry says:

    I love to get multiple meals out of my efforts. Wondering if your crockpot is stainless steel. I had heard a lot about lead in the ceramic ones.

Leave a Reply

