Hardtop Convertible

Marie's Cole slaw dressing bottle.blog

The ultimate oxymoron. Remember when that style of car was all the rage in the fifties and sixties?

Why did this pop into my mind when I saw the photo I had just taken of the object of this blog post? I have NO idea, but it seemed to fit. It has a hard top, and I am about to tell you how very, very “convertible” it is.

For many years, I whipped up my own mayonnaise, but then found that even the smallest amount I could make turned out to be more than we could use up within a reasonable amount of time. Regular mayonnaise never really suited me because it wasn’t “lemon-y” enough, so I always added a lot of lemon juice to it.

Fast forward to the last couple of years, and my discovery of a really good solution – see photo above. It seems that any of the refrigerated Cole slaw dressings have just the amount of lemon tang that floats my boat, and it is in a reasonable size, so I always keep a jar of it in the refrigerator. As it turns out, I haven’t found anything that doesn’t benefit from the Coleslaw dressing as opposed to just plain mayonnaise.

I use it as a sandwich spread as is, especially if there are tomatoes and/or cucumbers involved. As time has gone on, I have found that putting a couple of tablespoons of it into a small dish and adding other ingredients frequently makes a delightful dressing, sauce, dip or coating to roll an item in crumbs to bake.

Various combinations will produce quite delightful additions to the other foods on your plate, with almost no effort whatsoever. Just stir and enjoy. Make small amounts, though, as it may turn out that you don’t particularly like some combination, and any of them are better when made fresh and used up within a couple of hours. They hold okay, but no need to tie up your “base” and refrigerator space with a big amount of one kind.

Here are some of the things I have tried.

Add: Mustard for a mustard-y tang to dress up potato salad.

Add: A bit of honey, too, if you want “Honey Mustard Dressing”.

Add: A bit of catsup and relish for “Thousand Island Dressing”.

Add: Italian herbs and extra garlic powder (if desired!) to make an excellent creamy Italian dressing.

Add: Poppy seeds for – yes! Poppy seed dressing!

Add: Any kind of hot sauce, powder, or chopped chilis to make a “jalapeño” dressing.

Add: Thick Balsamic vinegar – and a little water, if it is too thick. (This is especially YUM!)

Add: Fruit slurry and maybe a touch of coconut sugar for a fruit salad, or to add to rice pudding.

Add: Ground chili powder, chipotle, or any combination of Mexican seasonings you like to top off a Mexican plate.

Add: Sour cream if you want a more lightly-flavored result, or use regular buttermilk or cream, if you want it even lighter.

I don’t have any particular “secret sauce” for hamburgers, but this would be an excellent way to produce your own signature sauce. ;->

SUGGESTIONS?

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hardtop Convertible

  1. gypsy97 says:

    I haven’t tried Marie’s; I’m a hard-core fan of Marzetti’s Cole Slaw and Potato Salad dressings. I agree that sometimes it’s easier and just as well to use a commercial product.

    Liked by 1 person

    • judilyn says:

      I like being able to have a solid base and then customize it for the occasion. I made more of the Balsamic vinegar kind today to put on some field greens.

      Like

  2. Kit says:

    U R 2 Funny! Vroom-Vroom!!!! Hardtop convertible indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. taphian says:

    good ideas, Judie

    Like

  4. I’ve never thought about using pre-made salad dressing, but I know you’re into quality ingredients and if you recommend this it must be good. I’ll check it out. I like your variations! 🙂

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      It’s so easy to try just a smidge of volume to test whether you like something or not. If you need a lot of volume, you could even start with your own homemade mayonnaise and then do the add-in thing for a party-sized platter. For me, it is the extra lemon that turns the trick. We are not big eaters, so a small amount of something is usually all I need. This is just perfect. I get to try out all sorts of wild ideas whilst not worrying about wasting ingredients if it turns out that neither of us likes it. The thick Balsamic vinegar add-in is the clear winner so far as a salad dressing, although I very much like the honey-mustard sauce for roast chicken. I have those little two-ounce Tupperware containers from decades ago, so sometimes there is about a tablespoon of one of the sauces left, and that is the perfect container to keep the leftover bit until the next day. I usually can find a use for it pretty easily – or I just eat it as is! ;-> Oink! I’m a sucker for anything lemon-y!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m definitely with you on the “anything lemon-y”! I do make a very lemony-garlicy Cesare dressing, but as you said, like with any homemade mayonnaise, it doesn’t keep for long. I’ll look for this dressing next time I’m at the store. Thanks for the tip! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

