Round Pizza

In the “duh” department . . . If one intends a round shape, it is easier to start with round, as opposed to square.

When my dough comes out of the bread machine, it is quite easy to shape, but in order to get a round shape I need to roll it into a ball and then do the pizza stretch thing. Usually I just spread the dough out into a large rectangle on my marble slab and cut in half to make a pizza (or focaccia) and six sandwich buns.

But coaxing that square shape onto my round pizza pan is an exercise in frustration. So I changed my way of doing this. I patted out the dough very thin on one half, pushing the excess to the other end.

Then I cut a circular shape to place in the pizza pan. Once in the ventilated pan, I used my itty bitty rolling pin to make the crust yet even thinner, and cut off the excess from the rim as it built up, adding it to the pile of dough destined to be rolls. This resulted in a thinner crust with less excess at the outer edge.

Here is how it looked before entering the 550-degree oven.

image

And 15 minutes later, when it came out . . .

image

As usual, there was a bit more than half left for us to gobble down at a later date. ;->

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Round Pizza

  1. gypsy97 says:

    That pizza looks terrific, and I wish I had some for my supper tonight! It’s been years since I made pizza dough from scratch, although I don’t make pizza anymore for myself but enjoy Donald’s when I’m lucky enough to be there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • judilyn says:

      It’s really a very easy way to use up leftovers and provide at least four meal servings. Good to eat up in a couple of days, or wrap up for more longevity.

      Like

  2. Kit says:

    Where can I place my order?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kim says:

    Mmmmmm, I can smell it baking!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sharon says:

    Yummy looking, and great thinking on cutting out a round instead of trying to turn a square into a circle.

    Like

  5. Sherry says:

    Great explanation of how to get it in the pan. I’ve never used a ventilated one but imagine it would give a crisper crust. I’ll have to check that out. The final result looks delicious. Makes my mouth water. Could your dough recipe be done by hand? No room in the RV for a bread maker.

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      Any pizza dough would do. I made it by hand for many years before acquiring a bread machine. But now that I’ve had one, it ALWAYS goes along on trips, no matter what it takes to cram it in! I don’t really have a recipe, and don’t measure very carefully. It’s just yeast, water, sugar, salt and flour.

      Like

  6. LFFL says:

    Judilyn, once you make a fresh pizza from scratch it’s too hard to go back to the frozen store-bought cardboard pizza in the box. I’m making a pizza next week with my niece, too. I can’t wait!

    Liked by 1 person

    • judilyn says:

      They really are fairly easy once you make a few, and so versatile for putting leftovers to good use. I just keep sausage cooked and frozen, and pepperoni in small packages, so a few veggies, and we’re ready to roll anytime day or night. Cheese is always available, and using up bits and pieces of several kinds is useful, too.

      Like

      • LFFL says:

        The only thing I’ve never made was the pizza crust from scratch. I’m good with a store bought one from the health food store. Saves me time.

        Like

        • judilyn says:

          That’s a good start. Back in the day . . . over 40 years ago . . . I could buy bulk crusts for $.25 each and keep them in the freezer. It was a snap to whip one up. I had a nifty pizza baker thingy, too, that was exactly the same size as the pre-made crusts. I have wanted to try a Pizza Pizzazz gizmo, but haven’t tried it yet. They look pretty nifty. So far my oven with a big stone has done the job quite nicely at 550 degrees! Whew!

          Like

  7. Lucy says:

    Wow, that came out terrific! I always make my pizza square, to fit the pan. Maybe I should look into different shapes haha

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      When we are having company for pizza, I usually do it in a big, rectangular, shallow-sided pan. It makes more volume and is easier to slice up into lots of pieces. We do like the traditional round shape, though, and my round pan has the nice vent holes in the bottom.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

