Spinach Salad with Ginger Dressing

soup sal sand ginger.blog

A new discovery! Semi-dried ginger!! I’ve never been overly pleased with the regulation powdered, dried ginger that is found in the spice area of the grocery store. It has a wee bit of flavor, but not much, and it tastes a bit artificial to me. Thus I almost never use it except, perhaps, in a spice cake. However, I haven’t made a spice cake in at least forty years!

But this little bucket of goodness popped out at me at the grocery store in the area with the refrigerated dressings (and the pretend meats and cheeses) the other day as something that might be utilized for a real ginger flavor without having to peel and grate fresh ginger, and then remember (the hard part!) to use it all up before it turns blue. It is what they call “lightly-dried”, and is purported to be usable for four weeks after opening, if kept refrigerated.

I was right! Mixed with a small dollop of the trusty Cole slaw dressing and a splash of soy sauce, it was just perfect on the simple spinach and grape tomato salad that accompanied our cream of potato/onion/broccoli soup, and ham and Swiss panini.

dried ginger.blog

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Spinach Salad with Ginger Dressing

  1. gypsy97 says:

    Another thing for me to watch for the next time I’m at the grocery store (I’m still waiting to find the squeeze tube sour cream). I had a big spinach salad with my dinner, but used ranch dressing with Texas toast croutons. It worked for me!

  2. taphian says:

    why don’t you use fresh ginger? It’s the most healthy of all. If you drink hot water/tea with pieces of ginger in the wintertime you will never get sick. Virtual hugs, Mitza

    • judilyn says:

      I’ve used fresh ginger, but I never seem to remember to use it up before it spoils. A personal failure. We like it in stir fried veggies. If I get in the habit of using this semi-dry variety, maybe it will stick with me better.

      • taphian says:

        Yes, I know that’s my problem, too. But in wintertime I drank hot ginger water every day. It is very healthy for the acid-base balance of the body. And I put ginger in my pumpkin soup and in Asian food, too. 🙂

      • judilyn says:

        I’ll try to do better! ;->. Thanks for the information about the tea. I’ll give that a try.

  3. dreamjosie says:

    Do you remember which store…Safeway or Fry’s?

    Jo Wishnie 414-704-2000 Off the road and settled in Tucson with my DH Fred and Boo Boo the Diva Dog Blog at: http://www.mytripjournal.com/wanderingwishnies

    *Look back with gratitude and joy and forward with hope and determination. ~Lydia Decker*

    • judilyn says:

      No, I don’t remember, but even if I did, that doesn’t mean it would be the same in Tucson. Why not call each store and ask if they carry it? If they do, you’re in . . . if they don’t, you can suggest that they should! ;->

    • judilyn says:

      Woops! I was thinking you were asking about the sour cream . . . my mistake. The ginger was in Safeway, but still, they might not have it at the store closest to you. Or they might hide it in a different area. I’m trying to think of other ways to use it so I don’t end up tossing it in a few weeks.

  4. Sharon says:

    Your photos would make a food editor drool!

    I have never seen the semi moist ginger. Will look for it because I love using ginger in so many things. Ginger and celery seeds are two of my favorite “surprise” ingredients.

    I used to freeze gingerroot and it was okay, but would get mushy when it thawed. Now I compromise by using freeze dried ginger cubes by Litehouse. It does beat having to use powdered ginger.

  5. LFFL says:

    Don’t you just love the taste of ginger?

Leave a Reply

