A New Fad – The “Bowl”

Carbonara %22Bowl%22.blog

We first came across this concept when we were fulltiming and stayed in Eugene, Oregon, for eight months in 2006. There was a restaurant there called YUM! that was in a shopping center that also housed a Barnes and Noble bookstore – so you can imagine how much time we spent in that area! ;->

We aren’t much on restaurants, but decided one day to see why people were waiting in line out the door to receive a bowl of the food being served there. After that visit, we STILL wondered why people were waiting in line out the door to receive a bowl of the food being served there. The concept was easy enough – you were handed a bowl almost entirely full of white or brown rice, and then toppings could be added. So the effect was that you had a meal-sized portion, but most of it was rice. Needless to say, that was our only trip to that establishment.

But lately I had been hearing people mention that they had “a bowl” for lunch, so I enquired. Yup – sounds just like what we experienced in Oregon. I have no clue how it all shakes out now, though. It may very well be quite nice.

In fairness, I just looked on the net using YUM! as the search string, and it looks like an entirely different operation today. The food looked really good in the video, and the concept I described above is nowhere in sight. So, rant over.

But the point of this blog entry is to describe my own “bowl” of a really delicious lunch we had a few days ago. This is leftover angel hair with veggies, cheese, and eggs. I call it Carbonara, although that is probably not entirely accurate. It is a most delicious way to do away with little pots of goodies that you have in the refrigerator, whilst providing a most satisfying dining experience.

This particular day, I didn’t really have a lot of leftover veggies, so just sauteed up two slices of bacon, some mushrooms, onions, some cut up fresh tomato bits, and red peppers. Kale and/or broccoli are particularly good in this, both for the health values and the pretty green color. In the end, I added some marinated sun-dried tomato Julienne strips, and they added a remarkable zing that was more than I had expected. I was out of fresh spinach, but a handful of leaves at the very end are just glorious!

Push everything to the side and slowly scramble however many eggs you have chosen to add. I usually use just two for the both of us because duck eggs are extra, extra, extra large! At serving time, I added a generous sprinkling of grated Parmesan cheese. Too late, I realized that olives would have been good on it, too.

Leftover pasta is always handy to make something quick and delicious for lunch. If you have brought home a doggy bag of meat or veggies from a restaurant meal, this is an excellent way to parlay it into another meal with little effort. If you have a bit of fresh lemon, a couple of squeezes will bring this dish to brilliance, and you will never even remember that it was so easy.

Of course you can make an omelet separately and use the above veggie mixture as a filling if you don’t have any pasta. Just melt some extra sharp Cheddar over the top of the omelet part and dot the cheese with something pretty like the green part of scallions, black olives, chiles, roasted red pepper strips, and/or a strip of the sour cream from the tube. A side of home fries would no doubt be welcomed as well.

Note to self: You have angel hair, a dozen red peppers, cooked kale and broccoli, fresh spinach, olives, etc. in the refrigerator at this very moment – just no mushrooms! ;->

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A New Fad – The “Bowl”

  1. Kim says:

    Well, YUM. Agree with you on most restaurants – as in 99% of the time one can do better at home. Exception – sushi. But I bet you even know how to do that at home!

    • judilyn says:

      Actually, I’ve never tried to make sushi. Raw fish just never appealed to me, even when it was freshly caught by my own family! Since Fukushima, we don’t eat any seafood at all – more’s the pity. I truly love seafood! But it is just too dangerous now to eat now because the cancer meds really whack Gary’s immune system.

      • gypsy97 says:

        I’ve never been crazy about raw fish either, so I always made California Roll. It’s made with crab meat, but it is often made with a crab substitute (forget what they call it). A stalk of celery, the crab, slices of avocado, and I can’t think of what else because I haven’t had it for years. It is not difficult to make although some people are better at rolling it evenly. Mine definitely always looked like an amateur made it! Some use cucumber sticks, but they give me indigestion and I much prefer the crunchy celery.

      • judilyn says:

        Surimi is the crab substitute. I formerly bought it when we lived in California, but then one day I looked at the list of ingredients, and scratched it off my grocery list. I watched a video about rolling sushi, and they used a little mat that looked like it might have been made out of thin bamboo strips. Looked easy in the video, but I’ve never tried it for myself.

  2. gypsy97 says:

    The whole concept sounds good, and I often do similar things with leftovers and bits of veggies I have on hand, although it might not make such a beautiful picture. I rarely eat rice, quinoa, or pasta, but I am thinking of having some pasta with shrimp in my freezer. By the way, I cannot find sour cream in the squeeze tube, so I just bought a small tub of Daisy.

    • judilyn says:

      I guess I always think of “protein, starch, veggie” as the minimum to make a meal. Pasta is my favorite, but I try to alternate it with the whole grains like quinoa. I’ve found that barley, quinoa, bulgur, and split peas do wonderfully well in the vacuum bottle. The starches get completely done in a couple of hours, and the legumes require only about 15 additional minutes when making the final soup.

      • gypsy97 says:

        My chiropractor’s wife is an expert in ayervedic food, and even teaches it. She told me she recommends you make a fist, and the size of that fist is the maxinum of all grains you should be eating in one day. That suits me fine because I love white bread, buns, etc., and I just don’t have room left for all those other grains which I don’t care for anyway. (I could never follow the ayurvedic thing but this is one aspect I can live with!)

      • judilyn says:

        I was not familiar with the principles of ayurveda, although I had heard the term previously. A quick stroll through Wikipedia filled me in. You might want to check with her, but probably the grains used in the bread, etc. would come out of the daily allotment. I really like whole grains, and rarely use all white flour in anything. We’ve taken a real shine to our Sunday blueberry pancakes made with whole wheat pastry flour – the best of both worlds.

  3. bjdewell says:

    That’s such an easy, inexpensive meal, and yummy, too. I always like my leftovers mixed up with rice, and of course fried onions and sour cream mixed in at the end. I can end up with two more meals when I do this “bowl” thing. Your’s looks really good. 🙂

  4. taphian says:

    looks very yum, virtual hugs, Mitza

Leave a Reply

