Teeny Tiny Cheese and Caraway Rolls

Ronit's cheese rolls.blog

Inspired by Tasty Eats –

https://ronitpenso.wordpress.com/2015/11/22/potato-cheese-and-caraway-quick-rolls/

I made the above rolls with leftover white and sweet potatoes.

I didn’t measure the potatoes, nor make them up special as she shows – I just plopped them into a bowl, added the rest of the ingredients, leaving out the garlic and adding a BIG duck egg. Then I shaped the rolls, and baked them. Oh, and I doubled the amount of caraway seeds because I really love caraway seeds.

We gobbled up two each at dinnertime, and I have been using them for “slider”-sized sandwiches all week! Superb with meat and cheese and heated a bit in the toaster oven to melt the cheese.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Teeny Tiny Cheese and Caraway Rolls

  1. The rolls look great!
    I’m glad you’ve adjusted the recipe to your liking – definitely something I always encourage people to do.

    Thanks for linking the post to my blog. 🙂

  2. taphian says:

    wonderful ideas, Judi, have a nice day, virtual hugs, Mitza

  3. judilyn says:

    There was some problem with a comment that was made yesterday turning up on a completely different (and unpublished blog). Not sure what happened, but am investigating. I love a good mystery!

    Regular reader, Martha, made this comment,

    “I love the look of these rolls, and the caraway seeds must give them a powerfully great flavor. I clicked the link for the recipe, and have a question. When it mentions “potato puree”, is it talking about mashed potatos? I have never heard of potato puree.”

    and I replied with –

    “Ronit goes on to describe and show pictures of what she used for the potato part of the recipe. Me? I’m too lazy to do all that, so I just used what was leftover from the previous night’s dinner.

    But to answer your question . . . yes, I think puree is just her way of saying mashed potatoes, but she started from scratch instead of using leftovers.

    When I make potatoes, I just throw as many as will fit into my 6-quart Crock-Pot and “bake” them. When they are done, they are usable for mashed potatoes for the current meal, or as “baked” potatoes with sour cream and shredded cheese, etc., or to just slice onto your plate and drown in butter, salt and pepper. The NOLA seasonings that we favor are excellent in this venue!

    Hopefully there are leftovers, which can be used in basically the same ways as above (except mashing after they’ve been cold doesn’t work really well), and at this point, they make fabulous Home Fries with onion, bell peppers of any color, and even a few scraps of any kind of veggie that you have lurking about.

    If you’ve a mind to keep watch on the pan, you can add some salsa, but then you have to be careful that the moisture from that doesn’t make the potatoes stick to the pan – keep them moving while the salsa imparts its flavor all over each piece of potato.

    Top the whole thing with some shreds of grated cheese, TURN OFF THE FIRE, put a lid on it, and let the cheese melt and swirl down through the whole thing onto the pan to crisp up just a little bit. This does require some monitoring, but totally worth the effort.

    Add an egg or two cooked in your favorite manner, toast an English muffin, and it’s time for the angels to sing!

    Hint: Marmalade!

    Still have potatoes left? Make potato/onion soup, adding bacon and scallions. Top with dill weed!

    If you like clams or other fishy things, chunks of that go exceptionally well in this potato soup. Make enough for two meals so you can have it as plain potato/onion soup the first time around, and then with the seafood for the second meal as a bisque. Sprinkle some smoked paprika on top in the seafood iteration.”

    But Martha’s comment, and my reply, showed up on my computer as being attached to the title of the photograph rather than the blog post. I don’t know if this appeared anywhere else on the net or not.

    Anyone with a clue about this is invited to comment here. Very strange!!!

Leave a Reply

