Strawberries and Fizz

About a month ago we were overrun with strawberries, so I cut up and froze up about six baskets of them with some date sugar. 

When thawed, juice collects, but it is pretty thick.  Enter fizzy water … mixed with about twice as much water as juice, it was very delicious and refreshing after lunch yesterday – and not at all overly sweet. 

Next time I might add a bit of orange juice – and maybe a shake of cinnamon. 

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Strawberries and Fizz

  1. gypsy97 says:

    Sounds pretty amazing. I freeze strawberries to add to my protein shakes so I never thaw them out. Fizzy strawberry juice sounds like the exact tonic for when Sacramento’s temps start rising.

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      I seldom drink anything other than coffee and water, but this was really good as a treat. It would only come up about once a week, so not something I would have at hand all the time. Gary drinks tart cherry juice concentrate with the fizzy water on a daily basis.

      Like

  2. Kit says:

    yum-yum. . .can I order up a tumbler?

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      The glass you see is only about six ounces, so it would be a very small tumbler. Very concentrated texture and taste, though, so a little goes a long way. It’s not like drinking fruit juice out of a can, or orange juice from a carton.

      Like

  3. Kit says:

    My plan is to add a bit of rum. . .

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      Ewwwwwww! I’m not particularly acquainted with what liquor flavors are like, isn’t rum kind of strong? Might overpower the delicateness of the strawberries. What about a white wine? They at least *look* less strong.

      Like

  4. Kit says:

    Probably the pirate in me. . .now where did I put that eye patch?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

