Peppers and Sourdough Bread Appetizer

When the bread came out of the oven, the peppers were prepped and ready for their turn.

 

And yes, one pepper half is missing, as is a generous slab of fresh-outta-the oven sourdough bread.  It was about an hour until dinnertime, so the cook took her due!  So satisfying!

If I had been more patient (I wasn’t!), I could have sprinkled a little olive oil and Italian herbs onto the bread and perhaps a few shreds of a potent cheese into that pepper half, but I gotta’ tell you, it was so superb just as it was.  The pepper half was still hot, but the bread had cooled just enough to be able to slash off a bit of the end.

Can you tell I am still enjoying the memory?  ;->  It’s the little things that make life worth living!!!

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Peppers and Sourdough Bread Appetizer

  1. K says:

    . . .had to go get a napkin. . .drooled all down my chin, . .

  2. becomebetty says:

    Looks really great!

  3. The cook is absolutely right – in such cases, there’s no need for any additions! 🙂

  4. taphian says:

    yes, I love these peppers and the bread a lot. Would have liked to eat with you.
    You only should be carefully not to use this aluminum foil, it’s very unhealthy.
    Have a nice day, virtual hugs, Mitza

    • judilyn says:

      You’re probably right about the tinfoil. I seldom use it for anything for that reason, but the last two times I did the peppers, I used nothing and the clean up was horrendous on my good pan. I have parchment paper and could have used that, but it was just slightly too small for the pan. I’ll do it right next time. Thanks for the reminder.

  5. Holly says:

    These look fantastic. One of my favorite foods! Tell me how you were able to blacken them in the oven. Paul grills ours, and then puts them in a bowl, covered, or bag, to loosen the skins. But if they can be cooked in the house… hmm…

    • judilyn says:

      I just put them on a sheet of parchment paper on a cookie sheet and put the oven on HI broil. I do this when I am making sourdough bread because the oven is already heated to 500° for the bread, so it isn’t much of a stretch to get it hot enough to blister the peppers. Obviously could do it before or after the bread. I’m lucky to remember it at all, let alone to think of it beforehand!
      Even if you are making something that requires a lesser temperature to bake, it is useful to do these sorts of things in tandem to make max use of the heat. If it is wintertime, you can open the oven door when you are finished and let the heat pour into your kitchen. Bonus! ;->

    • judilyn says:

      PS: I don’t take off the skins when I cook them. I kinda like the charred bits, but the skins actually do come loose in the refrigerator, whether you steam them at the time you broil them or not.
      I do a bunch at a time, and then use them up bit by bit as additions to many things, but a favorite is to put an entire half onto a sandwich or burger = heaven! ;->

Leave a Reply

