Lickety-Split Rustic Dinner Rolls

The key word here is “rustic”!  These are not to be confused the gorgeous Parkerhouse Rolls, but they taste just about the same to me.

This is one of the few things for which I actually use a recipe.  I have had this recipe for as long as I can remember, and have given it out to many friends.  Many years ago, a friend (waving to Coleen) and her husband had moved to Alaska, and she mentioned to me that the price of purchased bread was very high there.  As it turned out, she found this recipe very useful.

It is relatively quick (takes about two hours start to finish), and doesn’t require any mechanical mixing device of any kind – just a bowl and a hand mixing tool of your choice – spoon, spatula, or a Danish dough whisk.  I have one of these, but didn’t think to use it until just now.  Will try it next time.  Looks like it might do the job quite handily.

It’s kind of hard to tell from the photo, but these rolls are more in the shape of hamburger rolls, but previously I had always made them in muffin tins.  But I was in a hurry this time, and also wanted to try out these little shallow pans that were meant for hand pies or baked English muffins.  So I gave it a try.  The bottoms browned nicely without burning!

Success!  Not only were they delicious at dinner, they reheated well for a snack.  They were a bit soft, but served well also for a lunch of cheeseburgers.  Cut in half lengthwise, they fit perfectly in the toaster.  Care must be taken, though, because there is a bit of sugar in these, whereas my ubiquitous sourdough bread has none.  Thus toasting times are radically different.

Although this is a yeast dough, it is not to be mistaken for a regulation bread dough.  I’m not clear how it would work out if made into other forms.  I haven’t tried it, but I don’t think it would support a pizza.  I might try a focaccia next time.

Since this post is already pretty long, I’ll publish the recipe tomorrow.  I don’t have it in any kind of reasonable format.  It’s just scribbled on a scrap of paper right now!

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lickety-Split Rustic Dinner Rolls

  1. Jan says:

    Where did you get the pans? Thanks in advance.

  2. I bet these are wonderful hot out of the oven!

  3. taphian says:

    they look so delicious, I want one, virtual hugs, Mitza

  4. Pingback: Quick Dinner Rolls – Recipe | Adventures of Dorrie Anne

Leave a Reply

