Open Door Wheat Bread

I make mostly sourdough French batons for our “daily bread”, but once in a while I get a hankerin’ for plain ol’ whole wheat bread to have for morning toast.

This loaf came out perfectly, if a bit dense.  I allowed the bread machine to do the baking this time, so it looks a little compressed around the edges and bottom to me, but the taste is wonderful.

I have three slices left, so am plotting my next adventure into whole wheat territory.  I think there will be cracked rye in the next loaf.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Open Door Wheat Bread

  1. Liz says:

    I have never owned a bread making machine, ever. I used to do all kneading by hand. I called it feeling the dough or working out the arm and then I bought a Kenwood Chef and now I don’t know what my dough feels like. It kneads everything while I do other things. I am cooking more flatbread for dinner and more bread for breakfast but the best breads are the quick non-yeast ones. This one here looks great. Very filling I believe? Have a pleasant weekend!
    Virtual Hugs
    Liz

    Liked by 1 person

    • judilyn says:

      Like you, I resisted a bread machine for many years after they got popular. My brother-in-law gave me one for Christmas one year, and I was hooked. I seldom use the baking feature, though.

      Like

  2. Shirley says:

    As usual looks very good and yummy !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. K says:

    I loaf of wheat, please. Do you deliver?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks perfect for toasting. I’ve made breads with steel cut oats and cracked wheat, but cracked rye is new to me. I need to explore this! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. judilyn says:

    The toast is divine! And deliciously filling – I can feel the nutrition surging through my body! ;->

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jo Wishnie says:

    Wheat berries. You need to add some wheat berries.

    Like

  7. judilyn says:

    I’ve used wheat berries, but find cracked wheat or bulgur is a better choice for our preferences. I have a big quart jar full of wheat berries left from my experiments. Want ’em?

    Like

  8. That looks wonderful. I so love homemade bread. Have you ever tried baking with almond flour? I’ve made gravy and use it as a coating, but never bread. Just wondered if you had tried it. Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. taphian says:

    looks so good, Judie, have a nice day, virtual hugs, Mitza

    Liked by 1 person

  10. judilyn says:

    Droning sounds always put me to sleep – sometimes unexpectedly! ;->

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Craig Sheumaker says:

    Beautiful!! Love the cracked rye idea.

    Craig Sheumaker

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

