The Boneless Chicken Ranch

This cut of chicken is new to me.  It is a single piece of leg and thigh meat, but with no bone.  I can’t imagine how they extract the bone without mangling the meat, but it makes for a delicious main dish.

I dredged those huge pieces in herbed-up flour and lightly fried them in coconut oil.  It is hard to tell from the photo, but the pieces were huge – that is a twelve-inch frying pan.  I cut one of the pieces that you see into four smaller pieces, and we ate three of them between us.

We much prefer the much juicier thigh meat to the boneless breast meat, so this has been a great find for us.  It is slightly less expensive than breast meat, but not enough to make a difference in use.  Frequently the boneless breasts are on sale for $1.77 a pound here, and these leg/thigh “cutlets” were $1.69 a pound at regular price.  With no waste on either cut, either one is  a really good value for low-calorie protein.

The Rice Pilaf was a great accompaniment with the roasted green peppers for extra flavor.  We also had fresh beets, which cooked quite quickly in the InstantPot.  They were superb!

I credit Penzey’s spices with making this a most memorable dinner.  I have recently invested in a whole new retinue of spices, and am having a lot of fun with this experimentation.

I may line them all up and take their portrait!

 

 

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Boneless Chicken Ranch

  1. taphian says:

    I love chicken breast, but my husband loves thighs, too. The Rice Pilaf probably was really very fitting to the chicken, and so the meal didn’t have too many calories and was healthy, too. Virtual hugs, Mitza

    Liked by 1 person

  2. judilyn says:

    And still enough left for more enjoyment! ;->

    Like

  3. chefkreso says:

    Yummy idea for dinner..

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Liz says:

    Yes I can see how huge they are. I also like thigh meat the best. I made some Thai curry with chicken thighs two days ago and it was so good. I’m still dreaming about it. I love pilaf too and green pepper. Such a great combination. Great dinner!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sherry says:

    Would love to see the spices line up and know how you use them. I’ve been seriously thinking of asking Santa for an Instapot but we don’t eat much meat so I’m not sure how helpful it would be to us. Glad to hear you used it with the beets.

    Liked by 1 person

    • judilyn says:

      I’ve used the InstantPot a couple of times for meat, but mostly for other things. It’s great for beans – and collard greens turn out exceedingly well.

      I just got the smaller 3-quart size for smaller items, and for taking in the Lazy Daze.

      Like

    • judilyn says:

      As for spices, I must have a hundred jars of different ones. Not clear they’re all necessary, but I enjoy using them to vary the taste of things.

      Like

Leave a Reply

