Shrimp in the Shell

I tend to forget how really tasty these big shrimpies are. I have found that the larger ones, with the shells ON, tend to be more satisfying than the ones that have had the shells removed before packaging.

What you see is my old standby stir-fry mixture of baby peppers, mushrooms, lacinato, and scallions getting cozy with a serving of fettuccini. I had some broccoli – not sure why it didn’t join the party.

I ate only half of the shrimp, and there was a little less than half of the veggies/fettuccini mixture left. I feel a very fancy omelette lurking in my future!

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Shrimp in the Shell

  1. Looks very tasty. I also find that the unpeeled ones have more flavor, but will buy whatever is on sale… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. judilyn says:

    Having spent 36 years in Florida – where there are a lot of shrimp – I learned that boiling shrimp shells produced a nice broth for use in recipes. I reasoned that leaving the shells on whilst making this dish would keep in that extra flavor, adding to the robustness of the overall dish. Messy to eat, though. No one saw me! ;->

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Andrea Eagles says:

    Looks yummy. Where did you live in FL? I lived in the Jax / Atlantic Beach area for 10 years.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Shirley Nordenberg says:

    This looks so good. Love all the veggies ! Talk soon !

    Like

  5. RV John says:

    Looks very good and sounds very good, not sure that I have ever had shrimp in the shell before.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Shrimp in the Shell — Adventures of Dorrie Anne | My Meals are on Wheels

  7. Looks delicious! Shrimp cooked in the shell always has more flavor!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.