You Gonna’ Eat That “Cone-bread”?

cornbread from recipe

That question was posed to Eddie Murphy by Michael Taliferro in the film “Life”. It has become a catch phrase in our household when cornbread appears on the table.

I wanted to put the URL to the clip from the movie, but the language is beyond objectionable, so suffice to say that if someone asks to have your “cone-bread”, it’s probably a good idea to turn it over to him forthwith.

I usually make just half a recipe at a time because we don’t get it all eaten up very quickly. The picture above shows the four pieces that we would eat at dinner – except that Ms. Piggy already had one of hers! ;-> I have a really hard time resisting fresh-out-of-the oven bread products, so I don’t even try.

Day-old cornbread is especially delicious cut in half to expose the insides, and then carefully toasted in the toaster oven to an even brown, and then slathered in butter. Honey is good, too, but just plain butter on crispy cornbread is a favorite treat.

PS: I added a VERY close-up headshot of a scaled quail in the ANIMALS SPOTTED page above.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to You Gonna’ Eat That “Cone-bread”?

  1. gypsy97 says:

    I love home made corn bread but never make it anymore because I can’t eat it all myself.

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      I know the feeling! That’s why I make just half a recipe. It keeps fairly well in the refrigerator. It makes a suitable, if not perfect, base for cut up strawberries. Get out that can of whipped cream and have some faux-berry shortcake!

      Like

  2. LFFL says:

    Butter it up, butter it up, Judilyn!!! I can taste it now.

    Like

  3. Sharon says:

    The scaled quail has such a sweet-looking face!

    And the “cone bread” looks out of this world. I bet it’s even better split, toasted and buttered!

    Like

  4. bjdewell says:

    Great shot of the scaled quail! And corn bread – I don’t have it often, but I love it. Always wonder why I don’t make it myself. Jeanne made corn bread muffins the other day for her lunch with Annie and me, and it was so good. Still warm. đŸ™‚

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      The birds sit on the fence right in front of the critter cam, but it is trained on the water pond, so different parts of their bodies get caught on “film”. They have no idea, of course !!

      Like you, we love cornbread, but I don’t often think to make it. It is simplicity itself, and so much better than the Jiffy mixes, which aren’t all that bad themselves. But they have that ever-present aftertaste that I equate with “artificial”, so I’m sure there are artificial flavorings in there to enhance the taste.

      It’s an easy recipe to make just half of in your little toaster oven. I always bake mine in the toaster oven, and then re-toast it in there, too.

      Like

  5. Liz says:

    It looks delicious. I probably would have eaten both and hoped the rest of the food would find it sitting tight in my stomach. Thanks for sharing. Have an excellent week!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.