A Three-Egg Portrait

egg comparison.blog

Yesterday I went to our local farmers market to pick up my order of the organic duck eggs that we have been eating, and was surprised with a special gift from the egg lady, Helen. She had a goose egg for me to try! ;->

I happened to still have a couple of chicken eggs, and the freshly-purchased duck eggs, so it was easy to make a portrait of the three eggs.

Now I need to think of a use for such a gigantic egg. Suggestions?

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Three-Egg Portrait

  1. What an interesting selection! I’m curious about the goose eggs – never had them.

  2. Sharon says:

    Well, I wasn’t expecting that when I clicked on your title!

    I’m sure you’ll come up with something wonderful, and look forward to reading about it!

    • judilyn says:

      It’s like a three-egg omelet! I used a whole duck egg in a full batch of pancakes last week. I usually make only half a recipe, and that is enough for brunch and several nights’ snacks, but this time I made the whollllleeee thing! There were lots of leftovers for midnight snacking purposes.

      • Sharon says:

        You are the only person in the world I know who cooks duck and goose eggs! If I knew where to get them around here, I would try them. I’ll check our farmers’ market when I get home. Someone has to have them!

      • judilyn says:

        I had never seen a goose egg in person, so to speak, until this one. It will be interesting.

  3. taphian says:

    The only suggestion I have is to blow the eggs out and to paint them for Easter. I don’t know how they taste, but maybe scrambled eggs on a piece of bread with avocado puree and fresh green onions on it? Wish you a wonderful week-end, Judie, regards Mitza

    • judilyn says:

      I’m thinking a one-egg omelette might be in order. Right now I just look at it every time I open the refrigerator! It is so huge! ;->

      • taphian says:

        I would be happy to get the shell to paint it.

      • judilyn says:

        I could try to send it to you, but I would imagine an animal product like that would not be able to clear customs from country to country. What do you think?

      • taphian says:

        That would be really nice but too much money and effort. I have no idea if it’s forbidden or not, but I think empty might not be a problem. But thanks a lot for your kind offer. Here those blown out eggs are really expensive, I think 5 euros.

  4. Lucy says:

    Wow, that’s huge compared to the chicken egg. Interesting šŸ™‚ I never had one before. Have a lovely weekend! x

Leave a Reply

